You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Remarkable Act Of Forgiveness

in #christianity5 years ago

Hey @janton!! This is definitely an emotional case. The problems I have with anything of this nature is how it turns into something else. I don't understand how someone would not respond to a police officer if they are threatening to shoot. It happens time and time again and end in tragedy. The other is how it always turns to race. It clearly was not a factor in this case, but it was twisted into it. She was tired and adrenaline started to surge when she saw the door. Then the person inside didn't respond to her or listen.

Botham's brother is amazing. His heart and his humanity. I think this is a start. The hardest part in situations like this is you know the individual is not going to commit another crime and is not going to be a danger to the public yet does need to serve her punishment. I am feeling disconnected again. My thinking just doesn't go with what society thinks.

Sort:  

Howdy tryskele! Well I think you are really close to what the majority of people think about this case. people knew she made a tragic mistake and had to pay some price but it got confusing for the jury when the prosecution claimed that she shot him while he was sitting on the couch and not coming toward her like she said.

But I agree it's just amazing how people don't follow the command of an officer when they have their gun pointed at them! Even if it's in your own apartment.

The Texas Ranger gave a great description of what happens to an officer in that type of situation where they get tunnel vision and can't accurately think things out, all they see is a perceived threat and they're trained to eliminate that threat.

But it WAS disturbing to see the activists turning it into a story about race, which it clearly wasn't. The prosecutors even tried to do that.

Do you think the sentence was fair, 10 years with no parole?

I have tried to answer this on a few occasions @janton. I have to admit I honestly don't know. I know Texas has some pretty strict laws in a broad capacity. Obviously, she never set out to do this and the amount of remorse almost immediately shows the type of person she is. It's sad to think that life can change so drastically so quickly.

I'm not sure I agree with no parole. Again, I am not sure that jail is the right course of action in this case. Just like when someone is killed in a car accident and charged with manslaughter. Where is it beneficial to have someone like that in jail? If they pose a threat to society I am all for jail. It's when life happens I am not so sure. I completely understand wanting someone to pay for the death of another. I have been through that myself. With that situation though, 6 people on 1 and he was stabbed 10 times along with friends who were there and his wife. He was the only one who lost his life. Because the guy was 16 he was sentenced as a juvenile. He laughed through out the proceedings that he was going to be out and have a life and his family is fucked.

I know this sounds crazy I am for the death penalty in some cases. I do think that the prosecution needs to be 200% sure that the person being executed is guilty. That there is no doubt at all. There are even times I think an eye for an eye philosophy might help. Some people cannot be rehabilitated.

Oh we think exactly the same on this issue! I'm for the death penalty if they know for certain of the person's guilt. That is part of a society's stability, you have to have strong punishment for murder.

Too many criminals don't care if they have to spend time in jail but they don't want to die there, so it's a deterrent. Plus it's Biblical and the way God set things up.

How many years did that juvenile get? That's infuriating.. his behavior!

Oh, I don't know about the "no parole" aspect of the Amber Guyger case either, that's a little too harsh I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87