Jeremiah 29:11

in #christianity6 years ago

adult-1869621__480.jpg( Picture taken from Pixabay)
"For I know the plans I have for you" declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future".
This message is inspiring. It assures us about God's presence in our lives. He will always be there even when things are down. All you need do is simply pray to GOD and believe that he will harken unto you. We are his children and he definitely has plans for us. When things go bad, you should understand there's a reason for that but when you are closer to him you will not fear what is ahead because you already know that God is with you. It's the first Sunday of the month and I pray that we will all have reasons to glorify and thank God at the end of the month. Stay blessed fellow steemians and thanks for reading. I wish you all a successful week ahead. Happy Sunday.

Sort:  

Once again, this is one of the most common verses taken out of context. God was talking about Israel as a nation prospering despite the fact that they were taken as slaves to Babylon. They would spend 70 years there. The vast majority would die there. Those who survived or were born there would go back to the land of Israel.

It has no application for Christians. Let's look at the passage.

(Jeremiah 29:4-14 NIV) This is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says to all those I carried into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: {5} "Build houses and settle down; plant gardens and eat what they produce. {6} Marry and have sons and daughters; find wives for your sons and give your daughters in marriage, so that they too may have sons and daughters. Increase in number there; do not decrease. {7} Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the LORD for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper." {8} Yes, this is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says: "Do not let the prophets and diviners among you deceive you. Do not listen to the dreams you encourage them to have. {9} They are prophesying lies to you in my name. I have not sent them," declares the LORD. {10} This is what the LORD says: "When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. {11} For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. {12} Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. {13} You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. {14} I will be found by you," declares the LORD, "and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you," declares the LORD, "and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile."

Thanks for shedding more light and cheers for the enlightenment.

This is a very beautiful verse. God is always God. All the time. Have a blessed Sunday as well.

Absolutely, my pleasure.

You have a wonderful day now, ok?

Congratulations @veekeeme4! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58