How to hear the voice of God

God speaks to us all the time just that many of us do not know it is Him. We make statements like, something told me.

maxresdefault.jpg
Image Source
It was during a Wednesday Service we usually have in church when my pastor illustrated this scenario to make us understand what it means to hear from God. He said

Imagine your mother calls you on the phone to meet her at the market and help her pick up some groceries. When you get to the market, no matter how noisy the place is, if you mother calls your name from the crowd, you will know it is her.

gambia-239849_1280.jpg
Image Source

The reason you would know is her is because you are acquainted with her voice and how she speaks. One of the things I have observed about people is their manner of communication; their choice of words, the tone of their voice and their mannerisms. Everyone is different in this regard. The more you are acquainted with these characteristics of a person, identification is simple. This principle applies when it comes to hearing the voice of God.

book-2073023_1280.jpg
Image Source

The Bible contains the Word of God. The more you give time and attention to the study of the Word of God, the more you familiarize yourself with how God communicates; his choice of words, his reaction to certain attitudes and actions and his view in every situation. Jesus said

It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life. John 6:63 NIV

This implies that as you receive the Word of God, you receive spirit. If someone, for example, speaks to you harshly, it is not just words you hear, the spirit behind the words affect you. In the same vein, when you receive the Word of God, the spirit behind it affects you. God said to Jeremiah the prophet;

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

I can just imagine the comfort Jeremiah received as these words came to him. God revealed his intentions to him through His Word. Jeremiah was now confident of the God's support in every situation and not only that, he became conversant with His Word and His will. If Jeremiah peradventure hears a voice telling him, "I am going to destroy you" he would know outright that that is not the voice of God.

The point to note is, as you learn the Word of God, you get to know who God is, how He communicates and His views about every situation. This way, you can tell whether the voice you are hearing is that of God or not. It is my hope that this post will help you discern the voice of God always in order to make the right decisions in every situation and you will be set on the perfect will of God for your life.

Let me know your views on this subject. Your questions are very much welcome. You can post it in the comment below. God bless you.

Sort:  

No, I don't believe that God speaks to us all the time. Most of the time God speaks to us through his word. But if someone takes verses out of context and misapplies them is God offended when someone mistreats his word? Yes, I think so. You really need to study how to apply the word of God. You have to look at who's speaking, who they're speaking to, and how broadly you can apply it elsewhere if at all.

Let's look at what God said to Jeremiah,

(Jeremiah 29:4-14 NIV) This is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says to all those I carried into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: {5} "Build houses and settle down; plant gardens and eat what they produce. {6} Marry and have sons and daughters; find wives for your sons and give your daughters in marriage, so that they too may have sons and daughters. Increase in number there; do not decrease. {7} Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the LORD for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper." {8} Yes, this is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says: "Do not let the prophets and diviners among you deceive you. Do not listen to the dreams you encourage them to have. {9} They are prophesying lies to you in my name. I have not sent them," declares the LORD. {10} This is what the LORD says: "When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. {11} For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. {12} Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. {13} You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. {14} I will be found by you," declares the LORD, "and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you," declares the LORD, "and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile."

Most of the people going to Babylon would die there. God made promises to Israel as a nation. Most of the people that God would bring back weren't even born yet. God made future promises at a time of great suffering for the nation.

I was saved in 1980. There have been a few times when I've felt God's words in my mind as an answer to prayer. Most of the time I got a Bible verse.

When I pray one of the last things I say to God is, "What can I do for you?" I got an answer to that once. It was, "Lead a Bible study."

I am really inspired by your comment and thank you for taking out time to share. I would also like to share this with you.

God, who has called you into fellowship with His Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful. 1 Corinthians 1:9 NIV

The key in this verse I would like us to look at is fellowship. It is translated from the greek koinonia which means partnership, oneness, to share in common, intimacy, communion, participation. Paul the apostle gives us the revelation that as children of God, our communion is with the Lord. Isaiah gave a prophecy

Come, let’s talk this over, says the Lord; no matter how deep the stain of your sins, I can take it out and make you as clean as freshly fallen snow. Even if you are stained as red as crimson, I can make you white as wool! Isaiah 1:18 TLB

This scripture reveals to us the desire of God to talk with us. The sad story is many people do not make time to talk to the Lord. And those who do it, do it as a ritual of some kind. They talk to the Lord as one of the practices of Christianity. God is not pleased with that. God is real. He is a person. He has emotions. We may not see Him with our physical eyes but that does not rule out the fact that He is real. Anybody who makes time, and sincerely opens his heart to the Lord will enjoy rich fellowship with the Lord. Anybody can be very close to God such that you are always communicating with Him. The Bible says deep calleth unto deep. Psalm 42:11. The only secret is time in his presence and sincerity of heart. I hope this post helps in your walk with Lord. Thank you for your comment once again @barncat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93