Steemit Powered Christmas for Two Poor Christians and Their Families in Pakistan

in #christmas6 years ago (edited)

Christians are religious minority in Pakistan. While some are well off and have a a well-to-do life, most of them are poor. Although there are Christian officers too, but the lowest cadre in goverment offices is full of Christians. For example, more than two thirds of sanitary workers are Christians.

textgram_1513759796.png

Whatever the reasons behind this situation, the economic reality of their life is very disturbing. When I go to office, I see these people cleaning each and every spot in the building with such dedication and honesty. When I see their pay slips, it's hardly $150 per month. Yes, $5 per day.

You can realize how bad it is when you look at the minimum wages in the States; which vary from $7 to $12.5 in different states.

IMG_20171219_232723.jpg
$5 a day is too low a wage by any standard.

Salaries here in Pakistan are generally very less as compared to international standards. Economy has a part to play. Our corrupt politicians in power corridors are good for nothing!

Steemit Powered Christmas

Christmas is here. I was going through my Steemit feed yesterday and was inpired to see how Steemit is helping feed an entire church in Myanmar. Here in my office, I was dispatching two Christian members of our staff serving in the lowest cadre to collect Christmas bounty; an organizational initiative to financially help poor Christians celebrate Christmas. Though a noble step, the bounty amounts hardly to $30 or less.

I Wish Our Two Christian Staff Members to Celebrate Christmas to Full!

And Steemit community can help them celebrate it way better they are planning to. We can help them with the power we have; the Steem Power! We can fund their Christmas presents and celebrations from the rewards pool; which otherwise is going to scammers in huge amounts. We can make Christmas a memorable and happy time for them, instead of them thinking about their misfortunes. Here's the deal.

Two Christians, named Chand & Naveed, serve at our office as janitors. I request Steemit to help in raising at least $500 (USD value) to fund the Christmas celebrations of Chand, Naveed and their families.

At the time of writing, SBD is trading above $12 on Bittrex. To achieve the $500 target, we need to get only 42 SBD in payout of this post. I also know that Christmas is just 5 days away whereas the payout will be finalized in 7 days.

I have a solution for that too. My SBD balance is more than 68 right now and I can easily cashout 42 SBD @steempkrex and give the Pakistani amount to both the Christians on equality basis.

IMG_20171220_120040.jpg
My SBDs are on open orders to acquire Steem but the target price is way too low so it won't happen anytime soon.

I can cashout 42 from my SBD balance when the payout of this post reaches a value when the 50 % / 50 % payout option yields 42 in SBD rewards. Let me share some math.

  • To receive 42 SBD in author rewards with 50 % / 50 % options, total author rewards must be $84 (in Steemit post reward terms).

  • To get $84 in author rewards, the total payout of this post must be $105 because 25 % of total post reward will go to curators (you).

Please participate generously. We have till Friday to hand over the collected amount to them before they are relieved for Christmas festivity with their families.

I will upvote 100 % and donate 5 Steem myself for the cause.

Note:- In case this post does not reach the desired payout, all existing liquid SBD payout will still be distributed equally between two families. Full proof of transactions and handing over will be provided on Friday as an update to this post and also a separate post to show the power of community.

Let's Help Two Families Celebrate Christmas

We can help. Two families will celebrate Christmas better. Are you willing to help me gather $500 (in USD) to fund Christmas to two poor families? If yes, please upvote this post till it reaches at least $105 in shown rewards.

Direct donations in SBD/Steem are also helpful.

This post is a test of community power. It would be great to see how the community responds to a charitable initiative. Please resteem to mobilize Steemians for a noble cause.

Sort:  

Amazing! You are doing such a great thing.
Allah will reward you for such a generous step.
I am upvoting and resteeming this post so that it could reach more people.
All the best!

Thank you so much. Every little effort will help. Thanks for upvoting and resteeming.

This is great my friend.
I like this initiative and that you are doing it.
May God bless you.

Thank you so much. God bless you too for supporting this initiative.

Great initiative with the help of all steemians and Christians here for sure you will be able to achieve that resteemed and upvoted the post.

Calling also @seyiodus for this project and @itestify.

Thank you so much for your contribution. Every little effort counts.

upvoted my friend.. though my VW is only 0.04$ but i hope it helps.. and this will be very special to me since i know both of them personally.. this is awesome.. this is what steemit is capable of..
Good work man

Thanks a lot. Every little upvote counts. Good to have someone who knows them personally. Steemit is amazing!

@ilyastarar What a great idea you shared to help the deserving christian fellows
Well i am also doing a little contribution so i am sending 10 steem for them

Thank you for your concern. I read it late due to being busy and couldn't contact in time. I already gave them the money collected from this post. I will post an update soon.

You are such a goodhearted person Ilyas.
Great initiative.
Love your view on the world.
I will resteem this post and hope you'll get a good reach! :)

Thank you so much for the resteem. Every little help matters.

All the best man!

Thank you! I just wish to make a positive difference in people's lives and Steemit is a powerful place to do that.

This is a wonderful initiative @ilyastarar God bless you and I hope this post gets to the desired upvotes

Thank you very much. Thanks for your good wishes.

That's a beautiful initiative, and a fine example of "the spirit of the season" being alive and well. My upvote is not big, but it all helps!

Thank you so much. Every little help counts of course. Let's see what these two people get.

You have generous and good heart. Allah bless you.

Thank you so much. JazakAllah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71