MERRY XMAS! Coping with a hangover and preparing for Christmas without a tree?! Why not:)

in #christmas6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8255.JPG

Ahh, it‘s Christmastime and you go home to see your beloved ones:) Well for me it already started out fishy on the 23rd December with a super packed and super smelly 2 hours train ride- What a JOY!

"Buckle up!", I thought to myself. "It‘s only two hours and I should have driven home earlier, but too late now!" So what happened after I arrived? Of course speed-shopping, because 364 days before Xmas are just not enough to get prepared, right?!? So I got some cards, candy and candles, got home and hugged my sis @itsnicoletv and already just 10 minutes later I was again on the run for the bus to the city. Every year I meet up with good friends from school and we do something that is called Wichteln. Each of us pick a name and then you get a present for that special someone:)

So our evening started out at the Christmas Market. We had some mulled wine (= Glühwein) and flaming fire tongs punch (= Feuerzangenbowle), went to our Go2 Bar and suddenly landed in the tiny pub with a dance floor called Pflaumenbaum (engl.= plum tree) - I told myself, that I would never ever go there again, but our hometown has not many options, so Baum was calling and I had no other choice:D You just would meet everyone there, sisters of friends, husbands/boyfriends of sisters from friends and so on:D The best new investment of theirs was the photo booth at the entrance! It was just a fun night, making me feel like an 18/20 year old again.

Baum.png

The Morning After

Well...I had a real bad hangover:D Woke up super late and just cuddled with my fam in front of the TV watching Pippi Longstocking and my all time favorite Christmas-Fairytale-Movie called Drei Haselnüsse für Aschenbrödel. I just love it so much, you can watch it on Amazon Prime Video here. It's basically a Cinderella Story with a twist and super cheesy:D

aschen.png

I think it‘s the title song of that movie and the melody is really nostalgic to me! Here‘s the spotify link. After a while I think my dad wanted to feel his arms again:D I abused him as a pillow and that was a sign to stop wining and start preparing the food.

Christmasmeal: Peking Duck

Every year we prepare Peking Duck for Christmas. It‘s sort of our tradition:D I was kind of lucky that we already got a marinated duck, because I was not at all prepared to do the marinade in the morning or night before.
So I just added some ginger, honey and soy sauce to the marinade and started to prepare the vegetables. You just basically cut carrots, spring onions and cucumber in small slices, prepare the duck and later on eat it as a wrap with pancake and finish it off with a mix of soy sauce & plum. You can find more and better pics from my sisters post about our meal.

xmasgif.gif

Here are some b/w timelapse recordings, where you see me and my sis prepare the Peking Duck and set the table.
As I mentioned in the title, we didn‘t get a tree for the first time ever I believe. This time we were a little late for everything, but my fam has a huuuuuuge repertoire of christmasdecorations, so I just decorated everything I saw in the room and went wild, which reminded me of this animation!:D

The end

In the end it was just a laid back Christmas with family, delicious food and love :)
After a round of Rummy Cup, we handed out our presents and ended the day with Netflix and Miracle on 34th Street!

I hope you had a great and Merry Christmas with your beloved ones, may it be hectic, chaotic or laid back and relaxed:) As I am typing this I am on my way to my boyfriends family- so Christmasfun all over again:)

Merry Christmas and thanks so much for reading!
xxx.

Sort:  

Merry Xmas to you and ur family :-)

Exactly what you want for xmas.

A great Christmas, thanks a lot for sharing the joy with us all! I love the technicalities you included in the making of your post too, a really nice touch!

Namaste :)

spending Christmas with family and friends is irreplaceable! Merry Christmas and happy holidays, and i hope the duck was delicious and you are alright from the hangover by now :p

Yes, the duck turned out great:)

The best way to celebrate any ocassion is to be with the family. 👍 Merry Christmas @jellenmark

Definitely it is like that, Christmas is to share and enjoy I congratulate you on your publication and I see in the photographs the magic of Christmas, I will tell you what happened to me in particular, at my table I did not have traditional food, I did not have fruits, I did not have wine or any kind of liquor, there was no Christmas tree but 12 days ago I won with a photo published and much of it donated to a foundation where many children and adults from a very humble community were fed. I invite you to see my publication and you will notice the happy face of those children for having eaten a nutritious soup that I assure you had a long time without eating, thanks for sharing your images

What a beautiful family you have, it shows that they had a great time

I actually love this post! You're so right and Christmas is a time to be with the ones you love :) your writing style is awesome by the way! You've just gained a new follower, I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Aww, thank you^^ I just wanted to be honest about my day:)

this reflects that family is everything,, I am sure you had a great day. Hope next one will be awesome as well.

If you are happy then it does not matter if you have a tree or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84