My Advent Calendar – 7 Dec – (keto-ish) Xmas lunch with my other exercise class

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

You all know by now that every Monday just before 10.30, I toddle down the road to the Kilbirnie community centre (about where I was standing to take photos of the parade on Day 2) and teach a mobilisation exercise class. What I may not have mentioned is that once a month I jump on a bus and go across to the far side of the city to take the Karori class.

xmas-lunch1.jpg

Today was their last class of the year, and as usual, they arranged a Xmas lunch at a local pub called The Pickle Jar. There are 3 other instructors who I rotate with, so it’s nice to see them once a year, as well as hanging out with the ladies in a more relaxed way.

Since @frot and I work from home, I don’t get to go to the various Xmas lunches, dinners and afternoon teas that I used to enjoy in the corporate world. So this is one of my few Xmas celebrations, apart from the family ones.

9am saw me heading for the bus stop and 10am is class start time. Once again, I threw in a variety of Xmas music, most of which I’ve already shared with you. But I don’t think I’ve shared this one, which was new last year – the amazing Pentatonix with Away In a Manger.

By noon, we were grouped round the table, with hearty appetites.

The part of the story where I digress

You may remember that before I vanished I was in the middle of writing about the Ketogenic diet, and various types of fasting. In my absence, I’ve been sticking to the keto WOE#, at least 95% of the time. I’ve also done another 3 day water fast, and in the month since then have been adding a new food each day, so I can get a good idea of how I’m reacting to various foods.
# = way of eating

For anyone who’s curious about what works and doesn’t work for me – I’m going well on fresh meat and poultry, beef or chicken broth, sardines, salmon, pork rinds, cold pressed olive, hemp or avocado oil, MCT oil, coconut products, lard, butter, fermented cream, eggs, a little cheese, macadamias, small amounts of fermented carrot and beetroot, broccoli, onions, and a few strawberries, blueberries or cherries.

The things that haven’t worked so well are bacon, salami, commercial pâté, cacao powder, brown mushrooms, and lamb mince – though I was great with the lamb roast that @kiwiscanfly brought us. And I still have a list of foods that I haven’t tested yet.

I pick up the original tale

So, as you can imagine, much as I enjoy a meal out, it’s not always easy to find something that works with my WOE. Meals high in fat and low in carbs are not common in most pubs, as they are usually accompanied by fries, some other type of potato, or bread of some kind.

Here you can see some of the ladies about to get stuck into the starter of flat breads, with olives, gherkins and pickled red onion. Sorry I didn’t consider the window in the background as I surreptitiously took a quick snap of the meter long platter that had just been put on the table.

xmas-lunch2.jpg

I declined the flat breads and just kept sipping on my glass of San Pellegrino sparkling mineral water. (Am I the most boring person imaginable to go to lunch with?)

The mains enjoyed by everybody else included pizzas, fish and chips, baked fish with new potatoes and salads. But I wanted a steak. So I had sirloin steak, medium rare, with garlic and herb butter, plus a green salad. Hold the potatoes and can I have the dressing on the side, thanks.

Again not a very good photo, as I was a bit embarrassed to be seen taking photos of my meal, which I normally wouldn’t be seen dead doing. So it was a very quick snap, sadly not very well placed. But – it does enable you to marvel at the size of the chunk of garlic and herb butter perched on top of the steak.

Normally a steak that size would be a bit high in protein for keto, but that lovely chunk of butter evened it out a bit. Anyway, enough of the technical stuff. The main point is that I had a lovely lunch out with my class, without going off my low carb eating plan.

xmas-lunch3.jpg

To finish off the day’s activities, after lunch, I went to visit my 93 year old aunt, who lives in Karori. I pop down to see her most times that I go over there for the class.

Advent-Calendar-Day7.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game

What shall I do on Day 8?

Thanks for reading and listening

Photos taken badly on my cell phone, as my camera battery died, and the spare battery was the wrong one, oops. @frot will be so ashamed of me. Video from Youtube.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

You have a good trial and error method to see what foods agree with your system.
Awesome singers. I liked their version of Away In A Manger.
I haven’t seen a platter that long. Your plate looks good.

I did the water fast for another reason, but it was a good opportunity to take a good look at what suits me best right now. It's a bit of a lengthy process though - so many foods to try out and only 1 a day!

I love pentatonix!!!! Dear lord thats a large dollop of butter!!

I love them too. Yes, it was a large dollop of butter and I ate it all!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Taking photos on a cell phone?????????????

I'm ashamed of you!

{Hangs head in shame}

@kiwideb You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Huge congratulations on sticking to your low carb way of eating especially at A Christmas luncheon @kiwideb I know low carb high fats (of the good kind) work for me but I find them hard to sustain due to the expense and preparation. You must be feeling great with lots of energy. Keep up the good work. You are a real inspiration!

Thanks! Yes, it takes a lot of organisation and thinking about what you're going to have. If I don't plan, it can all go quite pear shaped (like me).

Haha.....love your sense of humour Deb. The more time I spend in Steemit and doing my paintings, the more I dream of having my own cook and housekeeper. (lol) If only!!!!!!!

Oh that sounds like bliss!

mmm..... that steak looks good :)

It was a bit rarer than I asked for, but nice and tender, so I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Holy huge slab of butter, haha! Looks delicious!

Can't go wrong with a big slab of butter! Butter makes pretty much everything taste better.

That was my dad's motto, lol! We used to tease him that he liked a little veggies with his butter :)

A little veges, a lot of butter - sounds about right to me!

Your meal looked very tasty, hope you enjoyed every bite :)

Oh I certainly did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63