Not Quite the Christmas I had hoped for but...

in #christmas5 years ago

Merry Christmas Fellow Steemians! I can’t say this was how I expected the first Christmas to be in our new home … because it's now just me and Sir Maxelot, as my partner, has had to leave for the Middle East to start his new role. Long story... hence my silence here while the proverbial was hitting the fan... But, in all honesty, I’ve had worse Christmases.

XmasMe.jpg

I think the worst one was my very last year with British Airways in 2012… as far as I was concerned it was the nail in the coffin for my 23 year flying career. I was sat in the Heathrow Terminal 5 hotel with a company phone on 45 minute notice of being called to work… for 3 days from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day. Talk about stress… you start to imagine hearing the phone go off and even venturing out for coffee in the terminal becomes a game of roulette if the phone goes… because you have literally 45 minutes to be ready, checked out and mentally prepared and on the ball for wherever you’re being sent. There were a lot of other crew in the hotel on standby too, but we were all going through our own Christmas misery and no-one reached out for meeting up. Crew life can be amazing, but it can be a very lonely place too.

So today, I may have been on my own… but I was not lonely. I was in our lovely home and kept company by the unusually affectionate Sir Maxelot. Yup… he’s been leaning into me, coming for cuddles, sitting next to me on the sofa (admittedly taking up most of it) and being very ungrumpy. He’s doing really well considering his favourite human in the whole wide world isn't here.

IMG_8489.JPG

My plan was to totally chill out and watch non-stop box sets. I downloaded some great dramas from i-player while back in Scotland last week and all of them have a time limit… so I’m up against the clock to get through them all. It’s tough work, but someone’s got to do it.

So Sir Maxelot and I started off Christmas by going for his morning walk in the fresh mountain air and warming sun… and we explored the lower terraces that MGM had thankfully extensively strimmed back not long before leaving. Lots of exciting new sniffs for The Max Boy… and I then treated myself to marmite on toast for breakfast (a treat because I’m not supposed to be eating bread) and he got an extra large portion of Christmas chicken. After getting the wood burning stove roaring, I settled down to watch the last couple of episodes of Little Drummer Girl… and cried at the love and the love lost…and the sad reality of hatred in our beautiful world. But something pushed me to then get a Santa hat on my head, and take some Christmas photos… which then led me to opening the bubbles and juicing some of the oranges from the Orgiva Tea Gardens to make a wee bucks fizz… which somehow led me to scrubbing the kitchen floor by the fridge which has weirdly starting freezing its contents… so while I was down there on my hands and knees in my Santa hat, I turned down the gauge and hoped for the best… which then somehow led me to tidying up the area around my caravan office where the old pergola poles had been getting in the way as you walk by the nearest olive tree… it’s a bit of a squeeze under the very low branches and a step down onto the lower terrace and I’ve been tripping over the poles and promising to move them for weeks now… which then led me to creating an easier ‘fence’ around the terrace because Sir Maxelot keeps wanting to come in the way that we’d blocked off to give him secure free space… which then led me to planting a baby aloe vera…. which then led me to watering all the plants in the porch… which then led me to tidying up some of the left over building materials lying around so the area around the house doesn’t look so messy…. which then led me to having another wee glass of bucks fizz while watching ‘A Very English Scandal’ with Hugh Grant… which then led me to having a massive coffee with chocolate croissant (almost not bread)… then I spied my friend and channel Patricia Iris Kerins had been on her facebook page with a Livestream for those that were on their own for Christmas… so I watched that… I was in stitches one minute and then in tears the next when she shared a healing with the Love that came through Jeshua and Mary Magdalene… it was incredibly beautiful… so I had another glass of bubbles without the orange juice because I couldn’t be arsed to squeeze them… watched another episode of the English Scandal and fell asleep on the sofa… for all of 20 minutes… had a love-in with Sir Maxelot… sat outside on the terrace for a bit… watched as angel clouds formed right in front of me… and Sir Maxelot came and went and was heart wrenchingly continually looking up the drive for My Man… so I reminded him again that his 'Dad' was definitely coming back…. and then immersed in the last episode of the Scandal and cried at that… then my partner called me again so we had a good chat about not a lot, because not a lot had happened since our last chat… but as the sun began to set I realised that I’d been saving myself for my veggie sausages with onions and mash all day and I was bliddy starving…. but before going in, I helped a bee that was in need and brought him some greenery to revive his energy… My thoughts turned to “Oh my God I would SO love a hot bath or even a shower… but that’ll have to wait till Thursday when Angel Aaron brings the plumber and replaces our boiler. Till then, it’s still bucket washes with water boiled on the cooker… but at least we’ve got the miracle of running water in the house. Thank you Universe!

xmascollage2.jpg

When I got inside, I realised that I’d actually been resisting Christmas all day… not ignoring it as such, but just making it into another day, when it really isn’t. So I resolved to have a proper Christmas evening. I checked that I’d got enough Gigs left on our internet to stream some Christmas music… put the tinsel on the table, lit the candles, poured a glass of bubbles… threw together my dinner, lit my gorgeous Channelling Love candle (thank you Zing Organics!)… and then saw that my beautiful friend Jo Beth Young (aka the musician Talitha Rise who’s working and recording over Christmas with violinist Helen) had uploaded their own Silent Night carol, live from the White Springs in Glastonbury.

The White Springs is where I had one of the most profound spiritual experiences of my life… it’s a story for another day… but the love and energy held in their music opened the floodgates again and I couldn’t even finish my fave Linda McCartney sausages and mash. They weren’t tears of sadness though… they were tears of love and of feeling so held and connected to the Universe, that I cried even more… my heart was just bursting with love…. and then when another Merry Christmas WhatsApp came in from another friend, the tears flowed even more. Flippin hec! More bubbles for the girl… quick… before she gets too wuwuluvvyduvvy!

xmas3.jpg

Definitely time for another boxset of grounding crime and drama.

Tonight, I am feeling truly blessed and surrounded in love. I miss My Main Man… and my heart goes out to him as he settles into a completely new chapter and working life over the coming months… but we are in this together and we have a vision that is getting stronger rather than falling away. And that’s the power of LOVE… and following your HEART.

And this is what Christmas is all about. Love. Oneness. And Peace.

So from my heart to yours… I wish you all a Very Merry Christmas and Feliz Navidad.

Love,
Sally xx

PS. Great big hugs to all my flying soul mates from over the years... I hope you're making the most of your Christmas, even if you are on QRS... Quick Response Standby.

PPS. My caramelised onions were naff… I really must learn how to cook.

page flourish.jpg

SteemitLabel2.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely post! Can't speak for them all, but forgetting that Christmas is 'just another day' was often a disservice to myself. No reason to do more/less on Christmas than any other.

I love that you had a full day of work, bubbles and snuggles.. you best watch out, or that hound is gonna become a solid Mama's Boy. And a greyhound! Fostering those lovelies works off 50,000 hellpoints a day, guaranteed.

Seriously, this post totally made my day. Blessings upon you, sweets!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @yestermorrow! I hope you enjoyed your Christmas day too 😊 Do you have a greyhound too? Sir Maxelot has been with us for 3 years now and is 11... he's an amazing soul and while a challenge in many ways because of his 'screwed upnness' from having been a racer... his love is the greatest gift we could receive. It's an honour to give him a luxury retirement in Spain. Blessings to you! 🤗

I don't have a hound, but I knew some folks that did. They were the sweetest woofers, and lots of fun. <3

aaaaw how beautiful it was to read you. It's good that you could share in that way. Many activities...
Happy Holidays. from Venezuela

And now a very Happy New Year @wisejg! Feliz Año Neuvo! Thank you for your lovely comment! xx

Aahhh I can feel you @namastethis 😊 few years ago I spent a holiday away from my man too (but I don't have any pet) so I watched the K-drama on dvd for 24 hours without sleeping😊, almost forgot to eat but had a long chat with my man while sobbing .. that dramas really touching.

Wish you to have more wonderful christmas next coming years💖 heeyy.. your Sir Max really handsome and nice too.

Thank you @cicisaja! Thank goodness for box sets...it's tough when you have to be away from loved ones at these times of year... but we are never alone! I hope you had a lovely Christmas and a very Happy New Year! Sir Maxelot sends a big thank you for your kind words! 😍

Awww, cute sir Maxelot. ♥ Happy to hear you still had a fine Christmas day and good friends too.

Well my Christmas eve was good enough to make my Christmas day just another work day. I had a half day shift then I went around malls to do some more semi-work. The next day was a Christmas party so it's still good. Haha. We have a long Christmas season here. :)

There's still New Year so Happy Holidays!

Thank you @artgirl! Sir Maxelot is the cutest... but I am biased! I remember what it's like to work over Christmas... so I hope you've managed to have some good days off since then to make up for it! Wishing you a wonderful 2019! 🤗

Haha yeah. Lots of days off after Christmas. :D Happy New Year too!

Congratulations @namastethis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Happy holidays @namastethis, there is a big community around you, reach out if you need anything. I myself always have full days with my girls, they keep me super busy xxx glad you are feeling the love xx

That's so kind of you @trucklife-family 🤗 I can honestly say that I feel more supported with the new found friends and community here, than I ever have... even from living in the same city as my family. I Love it here... never a dull moment... and always lived from the heart! I'm sure our paths will cross sooner rather than later! Love to you 💜

Ahhh your back great to have you back again. Merry Christmas to you too anddd I'm allone to but not lonely I've been too busy with everything. Enjoy sir maxelot. Haha 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @hans001! I hope you had a lovely Christmas day! So many people assume that being on your own is lonely... but to me it's a huge blessing. I love the peace and the space... and Sir Maxelot fills it with quiet love. Blessings, hugs and love 😊

Hi namastethis,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie! Much appreciated!

A hug from me @namastethis. I felt you when you alone in a christmas season. But you have Sir Maxelot. I am sure you will get a lot of christmas presents from your partner.

Thank you @oliviackl... wishing you a wonderful New Year and 2019! 🤗

Happy New Year to you as well!!

Posted using Partiko Android

AWWW lovely to hear of your Christmas Day with your faithful hound! ( He just knew you needed him closer than usual - they are so smart 😉
Sending big Yuletide hugs to both you and Sir Maxelot my dear friend 🤗🎄❤️🌈🦋🍀

Festive hugs for you @sallybeth23! 🤗 Hope you had a lovely day too... and here's to the magic that awaits us all in 2019! Love from me and The Sir Maxelot! 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55