...gifts that cost the least can be the most priceless...

in #christmas6 years ago

DSCN5315.JPG

...it's the day after Christmas & many of us are fortunate enough to have loving friends & family with which to share it...
...how lucky & blessed we are to have plenty of good food & lots of treats...how fortunate to have such wonderful presents & gifts bestowed upon us from the ones we Love...

DSCN5313.JPG

...at a time when more & more of us are awakening to be less consumed by consumerism & the illusion of gratification through material things however... the greatest gifts are most often the ones that cost the least monetarily...

...sure, getting an X-box or a new laptop is always nice...don't get me wrong...I actually got a few cool contraptions this year...
...I was most impressed, though, by my niece's gift to my mom...her grandmother...

JenJen.jpg
( this is one of our donkeys, Jenny...we call her JenJen )

...it's no secret that my mom Loves her animals & our little donkey, Jen Jen, is so little & cute & super sweet that she could easily be anyone's favorite of, not only the other donkey, but the horses as well...

...Justice, my niece, is a senior in high school & decided to use her art class to create a gift for her grams...
...she took a photo of Jenny, bought an old window glass & frame for a few dollars at the flea market, & then she painted Jenny's likeness onto it using the photo from her phone...

DSCN5302.JPG

...we were all touched by it & I think mom even teared up a little bit...it was such an awesome gift...

...one my own favorite gifts was this journal for writing an autobiogrphy...

DSCN5305.JPG

...it even gives prompts to help get the entries started...

DSCN5308.JPG

DSCN5309.JPG

...I'm reaching a time in my Life where a fork in the road is no longer a metaphor...
...more & more I feel that the time is NOW & that if I don't get off my rear & make it happen then the dream is gonna' pass me by...there's no real fulfillment or happiness in the same, mundane habits & behaviors of self gratification...

...I was really touched by this journal as it seemed another sign from the Universe that it's time ...time to work through the B.S....time to stop serving self & to start serving others...time to do my part to make the world a better place...

...I can't change the world...but I can change my self ...& that's how we start...

...discovering this platform has been a wonderful burst of excitement & inspiration & I want to thank all of you who are posting such inspiring, encouraging...such relevant material...

...also thank all who have taken the time to read this post...

...may all your days be Merry & Bright...
...& may you be blessed with Peace & Light...

Sort:  

Such a beautiful gift! I truly think that homemade gifts are super special. Not only did someone take the time to think of something to do that is special to you, but they also took the time and effort to do it! And that above anything is what makes it so special! Also Steemit has been an amazing place for me as well! The community here is so supportive and thoughtful! Good luck for next year!

...thanks so much!!!...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74