Going to the Cider Mill

Yay it's cider mill season here! It signifies the changing weather and beautify fall colors. Fall is my favorite season of all. I always forget that it's not a common thing around the country, especially when friends ask me to bring cider + donuts when visiting them in other states. Around here in Michigan, there's at least 4 cider mills within 10 miles of where I am.

20190915_211620.jpg

Opening day has been so hot in the past couple of years. I think one time it was 90 degrees out. It just didn't feel right getting cider and donuts but I did regardless. This time around I waited until it was a little bit cooler and it looks like a bunch of other people had the same thought.

20190915_215412.jpg

20190915_220551.jpg

I was going to post a pic of the cider slushy I had but I had a bit of an accident with it and it ended up EVERYWHERE soooooo here's a pic of a spiced donut instead.

20190914_183727.jpg

I love trying to think of ways to use cider, whether it be beverages or cooking. I've used it for basting a turkey and gray. I'll try it in pulled pork soon. Hot bourbon + cider is my favorite. Surprisingly, I didn't have any bourbon in the house so I used rum but wasn't a huge fan of it.

IMG_20190915_190649_178-1.jpg

Sort:  

I love this time of year, and cider mill trip is one of the things I look forward to most.

Which is your favorite cider mill?

I like Uncle John's. I like being able to see the press actually run, and there's activities for kids too. For picking apples we usually end up at Friske by Charlevoix.

Are you guys near each other?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think so. Uncle John's is probably 2ish hours away from me.

It's also about 2 hours away from me, so we're probably 4 hours apart

Congratulations @sorceresssupreme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62