Cindicator - How to get paid for your intuition

in #cindicator5 years ago

IMG_8953.jpg

In a couple of weeks I'll be celebrating my first aniversary as a member of the "collective intelligence platform" of Cindicator.

I downloaded their app and started answering the daily questions in April 2018, just for fun. I like the Cindicator project, its promise and potential, and I wanted to see if I could earn a few CND coins.

Since the beginning, I have been ranking in the top 2,000 every month. I had no idea whether that was a good or bad score and how many people were actually competing with me. I only recently found out that there are actually over 120,000 participants. Well done, me! :)

cindicator2.png

The thing is, I don't really do much...

While Cindicator calls the participants "analysts", I have to admit, I don't really analyze anything. All I do is swipe - up or down - my brain is not involved in this process at all.

Cindicator's language all over their website is very left-brained: "improve your analytical skills", "monetise your intellectual contribution". So when I first started, I did think about my answers before I locked them in, and sometimes I was right and sometimes I was wrong.

But half a year in, I realized, "If I'm wrong half of the time anyway, why waste precious time thinking about it??" So I changed my approach from "think and swipe" to just "swipe".

That's when I went up to the top 1,000

I do not even look at the questions anymore.

I have no clue what question I'm answering when I swipe up or down. Some part of me knows, of course.

But if I were to involve my brain, it would just get distracted. What if the question is about a coin I don’t believe in? That would influence and screw up my forecast.

cindicator1.png

Isn't this lazy, or even cheating?

It's not lazy, it's efficient ;) And it's definitley not cheating.

Who’s to say whether crowd intelligence comes from the left or the right brain?

If Cindicator is adding artificial intelligence to the mix, surely I can add my intuitive right brain intelligence?

So, NOT analyzing clearly is the path to go for me. I'm not suggesting this for everyone, but I do think it's important for the mix.

I also believe the more people contribute their intuition to the others who contribute their analysis, the more accurate the overall results will be. There are many different kinds of "intelligence".

Right now, I'm ranking at #426! That's the best I've ever achieved! :) Let's see if I can hold it til the end of the month!

Proof-of-Intuition

Intuition is still highly underrated in our current society. So this is a great way to prove it works (even just to yourself!) and benefit financially from it. Granted, it’s only cents for now, and if it would cost me more than 3min a day, I would consider the ROI highly inefficient and not worth my time.

However this same intuition also tells me that Cindicator will be worth a lot more than just cents one day, when its product is refined and becomes more and more popular and useful. When that day comes I will be happy I had an inkling “way back when” and started accumulating those CND tokens as early as I could.

I also hope Cindicator will give intuition a proper place in the future - even if it's just in the language on their website - because can you truly call it "hybrid intelligence" otherwise? :)


An earlier version of this article was originally published on Publish0x.

Free crypto banner.png

About the author:

Anja Schuetz is a cryptocurrency mentor for absolute beginners, with specific focus on women and non-digital natives. She also consults as a Customer Communication & Operations Manager for blockchain start-ups.

Anja offers a Free Bitcoin Beginner's Course when you sign up to her Conscious Crypto Museletter here: http://anjaschuetz.net and has also written a Beginner's Guide to Steemit

Sort:  

Well I just gave my $0.007 for this very interesting post and experiment. Keep it up and keep increasing in the ranks. Thanks @jrb450 for such a nice read, I love @partiko notification system and that's the main reason I used it! Again, no one is gonna give you a cent for free, if you find one in the floor pick it up because no one will give it to you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Something tells me that you did not need Cindicator to know you have amazing intuitive skills 😁.

What a cool way to earn extra $- my friend @raserrano in Costa Rica likes to say nobody is just gonna give you cents....

He’s right - you have to pay for them with intuition 😄

I actually did appreciate the kind of proof Cindicator provided 😄 We all have intuition, but we never really get to measure it. Especially not in a financial way!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Intuition does play such a huge part and you seem to seek out information more than the casual enthusiast :D. Do you venture into all types of questions or stick to the slider only? I find all of the cindicator users interesting in the varried approaches :D

I only do crypto questions, and I do almost all of them, except the 200 points ones where you have to rank 5 different currencies in order. I don't do well with them, and 200 points is a LOT to lose if you're wrong ;)

You got a 35.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64