AERIAL CIRCUS, DANCING IN THE SKY

in #circus6 years ago (edited)

AERIAL CIRCUS, DANCING IN THE SKY

FullSizeRender (26).jpg
DO YOU KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT?

I'm always surprised when I tell people I'm an Aerialist, that they don't know what it means. I mean that I love wrapping myself up in knots in the air to music.

THERE ARE MANY FORMS OF AERIAL CIRCUS. PEOPLE OFTEN PICTURE THE FLYING TRAPEZE FIRST.

https://goo.gl/images/2ggVLV
gallery9-e1490649398509.jpg

BUT THIS IS QUITE DIFFERENT TO WHAT I PRACTICE! I would love to do this. Imagine the adrenalin rush!

I OWN A STATIC TRAPEZE RIG, WHERE THE AERIAL DISCIPLINES ARE LIMITED TO NONE SWINGING APPARATUS.

WriteBehind (6).jpg

HERE ARE SOME OF THE THINGS WE USE ON MY RIG.

WriteBehind (5).jpg

WriteBehind (3).jpg

WriteBehind (2).jpg

WriteBehind (4).jpg

I PERFORM SOMETIMES

20156031_1871130436539675_8125374656704361642_nsiobhan.jpg

BUT MOSTLY I TEACH.

I love kids getting in touch with their own bodies, discovering their strengths, understanding how their limbs work.
I approach my teaching from a creative starting point. I want them to learn to trust themselves. I did gymnastics and dance as a child and have been to circus school, but often my inspiration comes from my artistic ,theatrical background. I want my students to be at home on the apparatus. I want them to learn to choreograph. I want them to be in their authentic body. I teach a lot of traditional flexibility and strength exercises, but I also teach confidence in themselves and their artistic personality. I encourage them to DANCE IN THE SKY!

527110_3982647357693_956222629_n (2).jpg

#aerialists

ARE YOU INTERESTED IN AERIAL CIRCUS AND AERIAL DANCE? CHECK OUT #aerialists FOR MORE POSTS ON ALL OUR DIFFERENT DISCIPLINES

PLEASE UPVOTE, RESTEEM, FOLLOW, WHATEVER YOU WANT TO DO, BUT IT'S THE COMMENTS AND INTERACTION THAT MAKE MY DAY!

Sort:  

An aerialist... i have never met an aerialist before... i thought those people only exist in tv :p

You have no idea how much this amazes me... kudos to you.. and personally i believe that teaching is a lot harder than performing. You said most people don’t know what an aerialist is. Thats because its a rare profession.. and you are a rare gem

This is definetely worth a resteem..

Thanks a lot for your encouragement

great to see you in action @shivvi, I can say first hand what a great teacher you are, both my girls have benefited so much from being with you.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Thanks. Will check it out.

I started my circus life with the aerials, I would do most Silk, but sometimes a little trapeze so I could teach it as well. Me and my circus group started a school a while ago, we also started with a rig just like yours, but we made it in a way that we could take it with us on our travels, to perform and teach wherever we would go. This is our rig when we went to Bahia in a new years eve:

trave.jpg

So nice to know about your work and your passion on the aerials. I will be following you to see more!
Cheers!

Great. My rig is transportable too. We teach at festivals in the summer.

You are great. I am happy to see more circus performer here!

yasssss! I don't know how I missed this post, but I love the message! Your aerial rig is awesome :)

yes, somehow it didn't get attached to #aerialists.

I have tried doing aerial silks and it was a lot of fun. It's also a lot harder than it looks. I tried trapeze too, but it's way to painful for my taste haha.

Yeah all aerial hurts at first, but you soon toughen up. Its way worth it! Thanks for reading.

hello hello!

I have made today this list of amazing off grid anarchist artist people from steemit. If you have patience to read it, you might even find yourself there :)) https://steemit.com/family/@purplemoon/we-are-family-i-got-my-brothers-and-sisters-with-me-here-are-my-heart-steemians-a-list-of-incredible-amazing-human-beings-that

Ok. I have patience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67497.36
ETH 3532.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19