City to Surf

in #city2surf6 years ago (edited)

20180727_103521.jpg
So its official I'm a city to surfer, my shirt arrived today. I have been so close to pulling the pin on this over the last few weeks as I have basically been bed ridden with an upper respriratory infection. Every time I feel like I'm getting better it knocks me down again the next day. So anyway I seem to be on the mend finally. Ive been back into incremental training since Monday night and it hurt after basically doing nothing but sit and lie around for weeks. Started with a very light 4km run just to get the ol pegs moving again. Backed it up the next morning with a 3km interval session (30 second sprint 1min30 jog). Rested that night. Wednesday morning was 400m sprints for 15 minutes (400 sprint, 400 jog), wednesday night was a 6.2km run, Thursday morning was a gruelling 16 minutes of hill sprints (almost died), Thursday night was a solid 8km run. This morning I'm giving the legs a but of rest but aiming for a 10km run tonight, then 5km parkrun race in the morning and then another slow paced 10km run tomorrow night. Sunday I am aiming for a 12km run. Then next week I will mix it up with some 15km runs along with some shorter more intense runs as well some sprints and interval training.
Unfortunately getting sick really stuffed my preparation and now I'm trying to jam 6 weeks worth of prep into 2.5 weeks. Anyway wish me luck. I have a little over 2 weeks now before the race and I'm aiming for a sub 70 minute run over 14km. Was originally aiming for quicker but I think now even 70 minutes might be optimistic with my shit preparation :(
20180727_103921.jpg

Sort:  

yeh me names @lasertx3 and i run, lolz. good work mate , lots of peeps do the run, make sure you get some pics when you dooz it , maybe go pro it and post some footage

Haha i dont like running with gear though :( phones, earphones, ipods, go pros... cant stand having stuff flapping around on me. I dont even like running with a hat or sunnies. Funnily enough though i run in board shorts for every event and i always get comments about being fastest bloke in board shorts. I have a secret weapon though because I wear skins underneath so i dont feel the boardies. Boardies are my trademark ;)

you say you cant run with stuff flapping round you yet you have your mouth with you ;) no logic there . bahahahahaha. yeh all good mang, boardies = self branding, brand definition , lolz

@lasertx3, enjoy the vote!

Have you claimed your FREE Byteballs yet? Check out this post on how you can get $10-80 just for having a Steem account: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/get-free-byteballs-today-just-for-having-a-steem-account-usd10-80-in-free-coins

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lasertx3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66