Female Torso - A Cityscapes Art

"What a hack this is?!" - I was asking myself numerous times passing by this sculpture. It looked kinda female-ish to me, but maybe I was just imagining.

I was thinking, who knows what the author truly had in mind while creating it!? What he or she wanted to present with those somewhat egg-shaped four spheres or balls somehow connected in one piece?!

But now I know!

Female Torso - Sculpture by Raoul Goldoni

The sculpture named "Female Torso" or "Big Torso" created in 1973 is the work of Croatian painter, sculptor, graphic and interior designer, and also one of the world pioneers of glass sculptures and art design in glass, in general, Raoul (Raul) Goldoni.

He was born on January 27, 1919, in Split where he finished the gymnasium. He studied painting on Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb where he graduated in 1942 in the class of Marino Tartaglia, and after that continued his studies for academic year 1942/43 on Academy of Fine Arts in Rome (Italy).

For this Goldoni's Torso some experts claim that from its front side it reminds a bit and look like the Venus of Willendorf, a small Venus figurine from 30,000 BCE found at the very beginning of 20th century in Austria.


Female Torso - Sculpture by Raoul Goldoni in Zagreb

Goldoni's sculpture "Female Torso" is made of bronze and stands on a marble stand. It is located very close to the main square in the Zagreb (Croatia) city center, on the Kurelčeva street next to the intersection with Jurišićeva street on which it's looking with its front side.

(Both above photos I would like to use as my entry for the following @juliank's photography contests #cityscapephotography, #streetphotography, and #smartphonephotography. For both photos apply the same specifications as described in the table below.)

Categories:cityscapephotography
streetphotography
smartphonephotography
F-stop:f/2.4
Exposure time:1/50 sec.
ISO speed:ISO-64
Focal length:4 mm
Max aperture:1.16
Camera:Mobile phone: Samsung Galaxy S9+
Camera Model:SM-G965F
Location:Zagreb - Croatia


Photos source:
My own photo, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ mobile phone. ~ © 2018 AMS - steemit.com/@ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!


Posted on Tuesday, August 7, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Fun! I used to do a series for a blogging cite in my city where my colleague would write about the history of a statue, and I would take pictures of it :D This reminded me of those fun days! Awesome statue, don't you think? Really makes you wonder :-)

You have to see it live. It would make even more exclamation and question marks above your head. LOL 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Not bad at all , thanks for sharing :)

Yeah, well, I don't know but maybe at his time skinny ladies were not that popular as today. 😉🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

female-ish? Really? I always thought it was a falus symbol or something :) thanks for the info darling, I would have never guessed it is a female torso, never in a million years :)

LOL - Why I didn't see it like that? 😜
Maybe I'm too rational and unconsciously thinking that four balls would be too much for that possibility or was just the angle I usually approached to it. 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T19:38:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 43.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.12$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97