Instrument Photo Shoot

in #classical-music6 years ago

My dear old Baroque Viola (and bow) had to have a little photo shoot a few weeks ago in preparation for our entry into Russia this week. Due to the restrictions on "antiques" leaving Russia, all musical instruments have to have a "instrument passport" prepared for them so that they can be sure that the instruments that you entered with, are the the same ones that you leave with.

That said, our "instrument passports" are not yet ready, and we leave for Russia tomorrow after our preliminary EU part of the tour is done. So, in a way, this will be an unofficial documentation of my friend BEFORE I enter Russia... not that it will count for much, but no harm in doing it I guess!

However, our contact in Russia says that everything is going to be just fine, and that there will be representatives at the border that will examine and sort out everything... Lucky for me, my instrument (this one at least) is obviously a modern recreation and not an original instrument!

Luckily I had remembered at the last minute that I needed to empty out my case of any extra equipment that wouldn't be needed. I had two bows that I had to send back with a colleagues husband as they were not declared in the documentation. Actually, one bow was doubly problematic, as it contained ivory fittings as well....

My Baroque Viola


It's amazing, but today I only just thought about how long my viola and I have been together playing in concerts around the world. It's been over 10 years, so in the mid range of my instruments. Some of my other instruments have been with me for a shorter time (5 years), and others have been with me for much longer (nearly 20 years). However, it is an instrument that I've played with often in concerts, and it is one of my favourite ones, so I do feel a great degree of attachment to it!


As you can see, it is a two piece back, with a nice lovely flame on the back. The maker also added embellishments in green around the edge, in between the double purfling that surrounds the outside edge of the wood.


Although it is a fairly normal length for a viola, it is quite a good deal thicker in the body. This gives it that little bit of extra volume for the sounding box, thus giving it a lovely rich and deep texture in the sound. It's a nice change from playing on a violin, which is a much higher bright and treble sound.


A few years ago on a trip to China, the varnish was damaged due to the heat and humidity whilst playing. It's something that I've been meaning to fix up on a trip to a luthier, but we always seem to be so busy between my life and it's life! The damage is mostly cosmetic, however, it is something that should be dealt with before the wood is too exposed.


Unfortunately, on the front side, the same type of damage from the same tour. More noticable here as it has smudged and ruined the green patterning on the edge.

My Baroque Viola Bow


The main partner for this instrument is this interesting Baroque Viola Bow. I used to have an amazing bow that was paired with this instrument, however, I dropped it and it shattered. So, at short notice, I had to buy a replacement. So I went to a bow makers who had imported heaps of factory made cheap bows. I tried over 20 of them, and this was the only one that was half way decent. Luck of the draw, sometimes the mass production can hit on a lucky strike! Ever since, I've used this bow, despite the fact that it is really nothing special other than a lucky combination of events that seem to have made it unintentionally into a really good bow!


The head of the bow, whilst having the normal Baroque style shape, is really quite roughly cut. Definitely not something that would expect from a hand-crafted one.


Likewise, the frog is completely functional and not beautiful at all. No ornamentation or embellishments, which in this case is actually a plus, as that means that there is no problems with prohibited materials (like ivory....).



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/10/28/instrument-photo-shoot/

Sort:  


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Interesting - I'd never heard of an "instrument passport" but it makes sense. And what a beautiful viola! Best of luck as you continue your tour!

Yes, there are certain countries that have this. Basically it is an import and export documentation. After the fall of communism in the East, many artefacts and treasures were just looted of taken out of the eastern European countries.

It only should apply for old instruments (this particular one is only 20 years), but they are always on the careful and paranoid side of things... Well, Mr too, which is why I do the documentation regardless, as I don't want my instruments impounded for any reason. It also means I don't take old instruments!

Your love of instruments in your care and music, is evident in the manner you write and share @bengy

Thanks! It is strange that they are around me and such a part of my life as long term partners!

Is it only Russia that requires a passport for instruments? I never heard of such a thing. Beautiful instrument! Have a great time in Russia!

Russia is the most formal, but other countries that have faced looting of treasures in the past tend to have some sort of import and export documentation (mostly Eastern Europe after the fall of Communism). In the other hand, Western nations tend to have a loose sort to prove that you aren't importing for sale.

Hey there @bengy! Beautiful viola and have a good time performing in Russia!! (:

Just curious, are you part of an orchestra? Or a soloist?

With love from a fellow #steemitbloggers,
upvoted and followed.

Thanks, it all went well!

In answer to your question, it depends on the group that I'm playing with. In some I'm a Tutti whilst in others in a soloist or leader. In this particular one, I was a Tutti player (one of two in my section), but I had solo parts... So a bit of a mix!

Nice to see an instrument so well loved and lovingly described. I hope all goes well on your trip.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers

Thanks! In the end it was a crazy amount of paperwork for little scrutiny...

howdy sir bengy! very interesting and educational post! Your violin looks wonderful! I'm assuming that they don't ever really wear out?

Well... they do gain a bit of wear and tear, after all, they are only just made of wood! But if you look after them, then they can do pretty well for a very long time! The problems these days are more the changing humidity and temperature due to the constant travelling...

sir bengy! oh the changes in humidity and temperature could make them crack or something right?

Yes... the rapid dryness is the thing that is most dangerous (like in an airplane cabin!)... but we use humidifiers for the case, adn I use a small "snake" inside the instruments themselves.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to Bengy (also musicapoetica). To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67