Taking a new partner for a spin...

in #classical-music5 years ago

IMG_20190412_185539.jpg

Today I picked up a different violin that I might be interested in to try out in a few concerts over the next week. It's a violin that I tried out a couple of months back, and I had mixed feelings about it. There are many things that I like about it... But a few things that I'm not quite so fond of.

Anyway, tonight I'm giving it a go in a concert after picking it up this morning. Probably a risky thing to take a new partner into a concert setting about 8 hours after picking it up... But hey, live dangerously! After all, what is the worst that can happen? Public humiliation... Well, no one will die... Except of shame! Ha ha, anyway, it is a pretty safe setting as it isn't in a solo position this evening.

However, after the seating rehearsal, I do have issues with the way it sounds in a large group. I think I will be changing the naked gut strings for heavier guages to try and change the feel and sound of it a little bit. It does react differently to the one that I have been using for the last half decade...

It is also a bit larger (well, more that the other one is a bit smaller...), so some shifts are slightly different in feel to what I'm normally used to! So, I'll have to rely a touch more on my section to cover for their inept leadership!

Hmmm... I'd better change my shoes before I go on stage...


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

tumblr_o1l9oxxDXY1u8jy4io2_400.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

If you find time, would you write an article about what makes the differences between different violins please, the effects of age, wood, etc and how much difference ro a novice and a professional ear there really is between a 20 quid violin and a 250,000 quid violin!
Love your blogs and really interesting material. Thanks :-)

Wow, there is several books there... I can give it a go sometime from a violinist's point of view, but for the more detailed things, it really is the expertise of a luthier! I'm only the driver of the race car and not the mechanic!

When you finally get your strings on your violin right the last thing you need is squeaky shoes across the stage. lol ")

Ha ha.. Squeaky shoes would definitely be embarrassing! I'm thinking that hiking boots don't go well with dinner jackets!

kind of bulky... but some are smaller lol

Good luck brow!!! All the best with your new partner!

Thanks... But in the end it wasn't for me...

thanks to share your experience. nice violin...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank, but in the end it wasn't for me...

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 40% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 5000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 7.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00