A Bouquet (Original Composition)

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I am excited to share the next project that I have written. Last Friday (two weeks ago), I had my first music theory 2 class at school. I was assigned a 100 point project to write a piece that fit certain criteria which they gave to me (I will list it for those who are curious). The project was due on Thursday. So, I was mildly stressed about making something that sounds nice. Then, on Sunday, in the shower, I thought of a theme to set this poem, which I printed out several months ago, to. So, I got busy, and wrote this piece out (with a chorale in the accompaniment). I handed it in on Tuesday, and got a 105.5/100 (10 points extra credit for labeling my harmonic progressions, minus 5 points for not including sixteenth rests as well as dotted rests). So, after getting it back, I made the accompaniment figures, and decided to post it here. Let's get into the piece!

The Piece

List of Requirements

Grand Staff
Treble Clef
Bass Clef
Time Signature
Key Signature
Bar Lines
Repeat Sign
Labeled first and second endings
Double bar line

Whole, half, and quarter note
Eight and sixteenth notes (I removed sixteenth notes now because I hated them)
Four dotted notes
One triplet rythm
Stem direction
Eight ledger notes
Four accidentals

Whole, half, and quarter rests
Eight and sixteenth rests
Dotted rest
Rest position

Use classical functional harmony
Use one half cadence and label
End with a perfect authentic cadence and label
Use one secondary dominant functioning chord

Four measures of labeled harmonic progressions

Form

I decided to utilize an antecedent unit which ended on V and a consequent unit which ended on I, each 8 measures. This section repeated and ended with a tonicization of vi the second time through (in order to achieve my 24 measure quota. I am not sure what to call this section. The closest term I can think of is a coda, but I am not sure if that is technically correct since the piece could not end properly without this coda (it would end on vi. Name me one love song that ends on vi [that isn't by Taylor Swift]). I then moved back to D major and ended. Either way, I would probably label this as a binary piece with a coda.

Harmonic Ideas

In this piece, I utilized vi as a pivot point to ii/V in which I used it as a predominant. In this regard, I was considering V to be I. As a result, I am not sure if I lived up to the instructions to write a half cadence, but my teacher decided to count it (since I told him all I'd have to do to fix it would be to change the G sharp before it to a G natural, making it a ii of D rather than a V of A.

I also utilized several secondary dominants in this piece as well as two Italian Augmented 6ths. Overall, I am quite happy with how the harmonic ideas behind this piece turned out.

The Poem

I am quite fond of this (public domain) poem. Its words and message are quite beautiful! Here they are:

A blossom pink, a blossom blue,
Make all there is in love so true.
Tis fit, methinks, my heart to move,
To give it thee, sweet girl, I love!

Now, take it, dear, this morn and wear
A wreath of beauty in thy hair;
Think on it, when from bliss we part -
The emblem of my wooing heart!

The Piece

I would also like to mention that some of the pieces that influenced my ideas in writing this were Ich Liebe Dich by Beethoven, Liebesliederwalzer no. 9 by Brahms, and An Die Musik by Schubert. Here is the piece:

Thanks for reading and listening to this! Please remember that feedback is always appreciated! Hopefully, I will see you next time!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  

Beautiful work @cmp2020. I knew this work by Beethoven through the interpretations of the Fischer-Dieskau. I really enjoyed seeing it on your link.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

This is great. What school do you go to that has such an advanced music theory program?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wao Really such wonderful and valuable work.I really like it.Very amazing project.Very impressive music.Heart touching music.Thanks for sharing.

@cmp2020 You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97