You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Piccolo Violin: A forgotten instrument

Wow, you are a music nerd. (nerd at my house is a good thing)
Quick question though. What would be the main differences in the scaled violins and the Piccolo violin? My oldest daughter plays, and we progressed through 1/8 to full. The tuning is obviously different but is the body thicker/deeper? lol, just curious.
I really enjoyed the post.

Sort:  

Thanks, and nerd is also a badge of honour in my house!

There are two major differences, the first being that the body is a size more suited to the higher pitch, and is this smaller than the fingerboard/neck length would suggest. So it isn't an equally scaled full size.

The second difference is that it has the characteristic (non modern) Baroque construction. For example, a different angling of the fingerboard, a different type (thicker) of bridge and a lighter bass bar.

Makes sense, it would model the sound better that way, and still allow for larger hands to play the instrument easier. I've messed around enough to produce something that resembles music out of a full sized, but her smaller one my fingers are a bit too flat/fat. (plus it's not my instrument I'm used to heavier strings and probably apply too much pressure.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88