You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My personal music favourites (13th May 2018)

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

All wonderful stuff. You must feel Biber was God's gift to violinists. Shocking that such great music was completely neglected for so long, and wonderful that it's made the comeback it has just within our lifetimes (mine anyway). Were they coming for you at the end there? I didn't think your performance was THAT bad :o)

Sort:  

shocking that such great music was completely neglected for so long long and wonderful that it's made the comeback it has, even within our lifetimes (mine anyway).

God's gift is a pretty strong acclaim. Until I read this, I never heard of Biber. I have to check this out!

Most people are more familiar with a different Bieber but it's still Heinrich not Justin for me. After Bengy you could check out: https://tinyurl.com/m89cryw

It is absolutely done if my favourite music to place, and to play any of the mystery sonatas is always great! There are so many good early German pieces in the repertoire that are very rarely heard.

Ha ha, no it wasn't the police, it was an ambulance! Coming for the subject of the sonata...

Too late, too late!

I first heard Biber on one of David Munrow's records, a piece for (or played on) sackbutt, and later got to know those fabulously sonorous brass sonatas and the Requiem. I agree, the pre-JSB German repertoire is a treasure trove.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67