7 Activities that Helped Me Get Through the Excruciating Summer

in #climbing5 years ago (edited)


GAC's non-climb activity: Rock climbing in Atimonan


Budol is real!

When I attended the MFPI's (Mountaineering Federation of the Philippines, Inc.) monthly meeting last January, I met the usual attendees including Regie Pablo, a school alumna and an Everester.

After learning that I currently work for Globe Telecom, sir Regie invited me to join the Globe Adventure Club where he was one of the founders. A GAC member named Boyet Aranzado seconded sir Regie's encouragement.

The ADVENTURE awaits!

I forgot all about the invitation and remembered about it after almost a week. The stress at work was too much and I needed to get away. It has been a long time since my last climb and last travel so I contacted sir Boyet.

Funny thing was, he couldn't remember me but he still forwarded the sign up form. He was too drunk from the previous meeting. As soon as I received the registration form, I submitted my application!


GAC's invitational poster in their email

I was super late for my orientation!

The orientation was scheduled at 6:30 in the afternoon at the The Globe Tower, Globe Telecom's main office in BGC, Taguig. I'm assigned at the Globe Telecom Plaza in Mandaluyong City which is approximately 7 km. I was able to leave the office at 6 pm. When I arrived at the venue, all the applicants were gone. The orientation was done! Luckily, my contact, Ms. Vina still gave me a quick orientation.

I learned that the course was a 6-month-application and was presented with a calendar of activities. The following are the climbs and non-climb activities that piqued my interest.


1. Cinco Picos Climb at Subic, Zambales

52893677_10216693353718368_4534073975113777152_o.jpg

My first climb with GAC

2. Biking at Heroes Trail, Taguig

53783937_10216752338832959_364515111362101248_n.jpg

An easy trail that I finished using a borrowed bike

3. Mt. Pigingan at Bokod, Benguet


The place where cows rule

4. Rock Climbing at Atimonan, Quezon

thumb_IMG_5302_1024.jpg

My first rock climbing

5. Mt. Arayat at Arayat, Pampanga

viber_image_2019-07-04_09-01-32.jpg

Batch 22's Training Climb

6. Mt. Tapulao at Palauig, Zambales

IMG-b0b4163fec755233d5765e7ac26716d6-V.jpg

Mt. Tapulove ❤️ Diagnostic Climb

7. Kibungan Cross Country at Benguet, Ilocos Sur and La Union

IMG-4efa6741e2d0a4615ec20bacf36abb31-V.jpg

Batch 22's Induction Climb


I almost quit my job!

According to Marc Anthony,

"Do what you love, and you’ll never work another day in your life."

However, I heard from someone that there are times that your work will never love you despite your love for your job. I was getting tired of the every day routine. I felt like I was caged. It felt as if I was at the wrong job with hardly any allies.

I want to be a geologist. I want to work in the field. I want to go out. I was already decided to submit my resignation letter during the summer but because I joined GAC, I postponed it to finish the application. By the time, I was inducted, I stayed. Now, I'm still working for Globe Telecom.

I know I will be able to get the job that I want, the job that I'll enjoy, the job that'll provide for my family's needs and the job that'll make me feel successful in God's time! I know in the near future, I will! So will you!

Sort:  

Why don't you post this in the sportstalk.social tribe, too? You would get more attention from sportslovers AND would get some SPORTS tokens too! Just an idea...

Hi @pele23! Thanks for the suggestion but I really have no idea what sportstalk is. Been out of the steemit community for a long time and I've just been writing anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60