So You Want to Be a Climbing Coach Series 1

in #climbing5 years ago

If you haven't yet, please read my previous post: So You Want to Be a Climbing Coach!?

Continued...

But I do want to teach people. I am passionate about improving the lives of the people around me. There are a lot of motivations that I didn't know that I had that Memphis was hard enough to beat out of me. Truthfully, cleaning another person's bodily mess wasn't exactly what I had expected but nonetheless it had to be done so I did it, often. Coaching climbers seemed to be the exception to the rules of my completely unwritten and unspoken job description and responsibilities. Regardless, I was working. And somehow I didn't know what my goal was.

I knew I had to create a USAC team. And that seemed to be where my responsibilities ended. I have enough experience with USA Climbing competition and so I readied my documents and certifications and became a USAC certified coach, gathered information on young climbers and their parents interested in a youth team, publicized my intentions on social media with the help of some of our corporate team and viola... instant climbing team!

Within weeks, I had acquired a tentative roster of over forty youth climbers. Things almost got out of hand before they even started! I was overwhelmed quickly and recruited the help of several new assistant coaches. All of them needed coaching training and some of them were not yet fundamentally sound climbers themselves.

A few tasks became clear: train my new coaching staff, organize my team by age and skill level and begin to account for each of these to my superiors.

To be continued...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74