the great wall of china

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

Beijing Foreign Studies University (BFSU) had organized a tour to the great wall of china for new Foreign Students sort of introducing the Chinese Culture to us...

Our teachers assembled our class at the west gate of BFSU and we boarded the bus... Everyone was excited about the tour.

IMG20170909080813.jpg
I was seated beside my classmate from France - Laurent...

After a two(2) hours bus ride we arrived at the Great Wall Culture Exhibition Center in Mutianyu to get our ticket for the tour (the school sponsored our ticket for this tour). Our teacher told us that we could ride the cable car for (120 Yuan it includes ticket for going down, 100 Yuan is for one way ride up) or we can hike (for free) for approximately 40 minutes...
mmexport1504933268141.jpg
Great Wall Culture Exhibition Center in Mutianyu

Since this is my first time I decided to hike with some of my classmates. Unfortunately I was not able to count the number of steps but it is really a long way up...

climb the great wall.png
After reaching the halfway mark, me taking a selfie and rest for a while to catch some air; to the right is the countless steps of the stairs I have to hike...

Along the way you see other tourists and local citizens taking time to climb every step and just enjoying the scene.The long way up was challenging, but it is worth the climb...

IMG20170909113131.jpg
Sense of fulfilment after reaching the great wall...

IMG20170909113114.jpg
happiness @ great wall

IMG20170909120812.jpg
standing on the wall of the watch tower pointing to the long stretch of the great wall...

IMG20170909120742.jpg
my friend and classmate from Mongolia - Akyei Khuanbai

mmexport1505106770390.jpg
my friends and classmates...

Its no wonder that the Great Wall of China is one of the Wonders of the world. Imagine the hardships of the millions of people that constructed this wall. It's unbelievable, you could only guess where the wall ends, your sight could not even reach it. Our time hopping between the watch towers and strolling in the corridors of the wall is really amazing... once in a lifetime experience for me... definitely worth the hike- challenging yet rewarding...

mmexport1504934409311.jpg
In front of the China Stone Museum at the foot of the mountain below the great wall...

mmexport1505106830872.jpg
time to go home- our groupie before going back to BFSU....

Notes: before going in a tour to the Great Wall of China... Bring water and food with you because it is very expensive on site. Then Senior Citizens and if you come with a child it is advisable to take the cable car in going up...

I have enjoyed my tour in the Great wall... hope you could also visit it and be amazed with the marvel of this ancient structure...
So long my friends... or next tour is just around the corner ...

RJ

Sort:  

nice post, Love it.

the place was beautiful, it was an amazing tour. Good start in exploring the Chinese culture...

Wow I'd love to visit this place in this lifetime.

you will love it maam, and I know you will enjoy riding the cable car and the slide going down. I will try it when I visit the great wall again...

Congratulations @arjay27lopez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81