Counter Life in NTU Library(PART 1)/在台大總圖的櫃台生活(上)

in #cn6 years ago (edited)

(小提醒,中文版的內容在下面,請往下拉)

The story today is about my part-time job life in National Taiwan University Library. As a student here in NTU, it is more convenient to take a part-time job in my own school than working outside. In the previous post about my self-introduction, I've mentioned that my minor is Library and Information Science. Therefore, when there were many job opportunities of different offices offered to the students of our school, I chose NTU Main Library without hesitation.

There are a variety of jobs in library, and my work contents are access controlling and circulation service. Today's post is about the access controlling.

Access controlling means I have to stay in the counter of gate and check if there is any problem when readers and visitors access or leave the library. Also, I need to check the visitors' identification and give them temporary visiting card. Because the main library is a famous and obvious spot of our school, sometimes many visitors come and ask all kind of questions, and some of them are even foreigners. The most common is asking for directions. We have prepared a lot of campus maps for this kind of situation. But there are always some unexpected questions... I remembered that there was once a Chinese visitor who came and asked me how to get to National Palace Museum from our school and I really got shocked. Because the museum is a little bit far away from our school, and it seemed not a "normal" question for a library worker. However I still answered him, and it's not only because I exactly knew the route but also talking to strangers is quite interesting. It will be more happier especially when helping people. Whenever seeing their smiles, I think my effort is worth it.

It is not always an exciting work sitting here in the counter of gate. Sometimes my coworkers and I would encounter some annoying things or people like who didn't follow rules of the library and purposely ignored our persuasion. Some even shouted or uttered bad words to us. Despite that, we still had to keep poised and serviced them politely.Fortunately, the librarians here are all kind to us and always teach us how to deal with these things right. My coworkers and I support one another as well. They are the very people who bring me warmth and joy in this job.

Today's share is over. The next post will be the part about the counter life of circulation service!

今天要分享的是我在台大圖書館打工的故事。作為一個台大的學生,在學校裡面找打工要比在外面工作方便的多。在我之前自我介紹的貼文裡,我有提到我輔修了圖書資訊學系的事情,所以,當學校裡那麼多單位提供工讀機會給學生時,我毫不猶豫地選擇了台大總圖。

在圖書館裡有五花八門的工作項目,而我的工作內容有門禁管理和流通服務這兩項,今天這個貼文主要是關於門禁管理的部分。

門禁管理的意思是我必須待在門禁櫃台,並在讀者和訪客進出圖書館時確認有沒有出現問題,還有當校外訪客要進來圖書館時,我要查驗他們的身分並核發臨時閱覽證給他們。由於總圖在台大是個有名而顯眼的存在,常常有許多的遊客臨櫃來詢問各式各樣的問題,其中甚至有不少都是外籍人士。最常見的就是來問路的,為了因應這個狀況我們圖書館印了超多校園地圖...但總是會有讓人始料未及的問題,我印象最深刻的就是有一次有個中國遊客跑來問我怎麼從我們學校去故宮博物院,我大大的震驚了OAO因為故宮離我們學校其實有點遠,而且這個問題一般不會拿來問圖書館的工作人員。但我還是回答他了,不過不只是因為我剛好知道怎麼去,還因為跟陌生人搭話對我來說其實挺有意思的,尤其在幫助別人的時候會讓我覺得更開心。每次看到他們的笑容我都會覺得自己的努力很值得。

不過,並不是每次在門禁櫃台都會讓人很高興,我跟我同事有時候也會遇到很糟糕的人或事,像是有人不遵守圖書館規定還故意無視我們的勸導,有些人甚至會對我們咆嘯或公然侮辱。可是儘管那樣,我們仍然要保持冷靜並有禮貌的服務他們。幸運的是,我們的館員對工讀生都很好,會教我們怎麼樣正確的處理事情,而且同事間也會互相支持鼓勵。我真的覺得在這份工作裡是他們給了我溫暖和喜悅。

今天的分享就到這裡,在下一篇貼文我會介紹流通服務的部分喔 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75