Why Starbucks Proves Sometimes You Just Need to Hold Your Nose and Invest

in #cn5 years ago (edited)

I want to try something different today. I just downloaded this great iPhone app called @partiko, which is just about the best Steemit client that I’ve ever used. In fact, I liked it so much that I delegated some STEEM POWER to it a couple days ago. And I am, in general, a pretty cheap guy. So it must be a damn good app for this skinflint to support it. I like it so much that I’m even writing about it in a public post!

Oh man, so meta...

So what’s so different about this post? It’s the fact that I’m writing it entirely on my phone. 😱 I’m sure any millenials reading this post are gonna be like, “Yeah, whatevs, big deal, I do everything on my phone.” But just know that the @shanghaipreneur is an old man. Doing anything on my phone is revolutionary!

But let’s get back to the theme I’ve been harping on the past couple days: Risk and long-term investment.

If you’re new to this blog, you can check out those posts here:

That’s kind of my thing. And, like pretty much everyone, it’s something I am trying to get better at understanding and doing the right thing for my portfolio no matter where we are at in the market cycle.

Which, finally, brings me to today’s topic:

Starbucks

IMG_3368.JPG

How can Starbucks help you better understand long-term investment?

Well, it’s simple really. As recently as June, Starbucks (SBUX) was at multi-year lows. It traded at $47.37 per stub the week of June 25. Even in China, where I live, analysts were talking up the threat of new arrivals on the coffee scene, Luckin Coffee and CoffeeBox. Armed to the brim with gallons of piping hot VC money, the argument went, these two new upstarts were primed to take market share away from the Old Green Mermaid via heavy discounting, free delivery, and savvy social media marketing. China is massively important to Starbucks’ share price as it is one of the key means of volume growth for the brand.

And guess what? Just over 4 months later, the stock traded at an all-time high (ATH), having reached $68.98 per share in early November.

IMG_3654.PNG

What did Starbucks do different? Nothing much, really. They tuned out the noise and just kept executing on their plan. Open up a couple Starbucks per day in China. Copy the good parts of your competitors and leave out the bad. They reached a delivery deal with the best food delivery app in China, ele.me, and basically just kept on grindin’.

That’s what you have to do, both as an entrepreneur and an investor.

Keep your head down and stick to the plan.

After all, you must have had a good reason for that plan in the first place. But as my daughter often says while stamping her feet when she can’t figure out how to do something, “It’s soooo hard. I don’t wanna!”

Believe me I know, it’s not easy. But we’ve got to keep our composure. Not get too high, not get too low. Think critically and rationally, NOT emotionally.

Every year, I contribute the max to my daughter’s Coverdell Savings Account. It’s a great little way for Americans to save for college. I buy one stock a year of a brand I think she will look back on, whenever she’s old enough, and approve of. Something she can look back on and say, “My daddy was SO smart when he bought that stock for me!”

When she was born, I bought her $2000 worth of Starbucks. So I’ve ridden the emotional rollercoaster of the chart above. There’s self-doubt, self-loathing, all the nasty little psychological quirks that come up when a thing you’ve researched well enough to invest in just doesn’t perform the way you want it to. Ugh, it’s horrible!

But it happens. And no matter what happens, it’s probably gonna keep happening.

So get used to it.

Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose.

But if you lose smart, then hopefully, over time, you’ll start winning more often than losing.

And when that starts happening, you deserve a treat! Go buy yourself a patented Starbucks extra-exorbitant extra-fabulous Christmas season drink like this Snowy Cheese Flavored Latte.

Have a great day everyone!

PEACE ✌🏼

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/shanghaipreneur-why-starbucks-proves-sometimes-you-just-need-to-hold-your-nose-and-invest-tya93cu9-1543240580672.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2018-11-27) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2018-11-27) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

Thanks @justyy! Did you know that the Snowy Cheese Flavored Latte is only available in China Starbucks?

Posted using Partiko iOS

That last drink doesn't look very healthy! But the price of the stock is very healthy!

No, it’s not very healthy. But it was my free birthday drink!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahh awesome, that's nice of Starbucks.

This drink looks very healthy and the price of the stock is very average.

I’ll take 45% up from the bottom in just a few months! 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice article and ....yeah learning from the best its a good way to go ahead but even some new startups bring innovative strategies also, anyway keep investing wisely!!

If you have any innovative startups in particular in mind, please share!

At the moment i don't have any ideas , i'm a little afraid and disappointed about the economy in UK, all thanks to Brexit . I was running a carpet shop and went bust because of Brexit.

great job, I just delegated too ! now I just have to get my damn password typed correctly into my semi-smart phone (-: !

If you have an iPhone, you can use Notes because it usually syncs on the phone and the laptop.

ah thanks... no, I have a ZTE (-: it's about a $20 phone ! (-:

SMS? 🧐

Posted using Partiko iOS

I got it from clipboard, ty ... have a great one !

when you buying more steem? do you own other alts?

I just recently bought 2 ETH of STEEM. I might add some more depending on personal finances and market price in the next month or so. I do have other alts, but right now I'm wishing I didn't! 😭

Thank you so much for trying out Partiko and delegating to us! Nice write-up about sticking to the plan!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @partiko! That doesn't even look like an automated response. Very impressive. I have so many questions and suggestions. What's the best way to discourse with you guys?

Partiko Android users can reach us via Partiko Messaging, and the Message feature for iOS will be available soon!

Before that, you can reach us via Discord at https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

We look forward to seeing you there!

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 19.86% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @shanghaipreneur!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 48.27% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @shanghaipreneur!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

I also think starbucks does well on investing. BTW, the little blue stars on your drinks are lovely! I am new in steemit, nice to meet you~

Congratulations @shanghaipreneur! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76