You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chinese Air Pollution Kills Us. My Experience

in #cn6 years ago

That's horrible!!! I think there are many things we can do ourselves, but real changes require large-scale efforts by governments to control pollution. I think that Pigouvian tax such as cap and trade combined with citizen dividend is the most effective way to protect the environment in the near future. It's so very important that things like environmental footprints are reflected in the cost of goods, rather than be hidden and therefore secretly subsidized by the government. It's also important that said cost do not burden those in poverty unfairly, which requires said tax to be distributed equally to everyone as citizen dividend.

I hope China will really end up becoming a world leader in climate change management and pollution control!!! I think, while some things are worse there, China is at least not being stupid and backward in regards to green energy? People there seem to care about changing things, at least from what I see as a foreigner?

I was reading this after reading your post and ekklesiagora's comment.
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/china-is-preparing-to-launch-the-world-rsquo-s-biggest-carbon-market/

Here in America, a quarter of Americans actually think that we've gone too far in protecting the environment..... http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/04/20/for-earth-day-heres-how-americans-view-environmental-issues/

Sort:  

As far as I know from a news, it has really become priority number one for Chinese government. And if they are genuinely interested in something - they will make it done. So I believe we can expect better future. Thanks for your opinion and for sharing other articles, I will definitely check them out. Spreading useful information is already a big step.

I agree. It's so important to have a conversation about it and spreading information. Thanks for your well written post! <3

China is quite amazing to me. I see that China might be behind in some social justice factors, but they're so much more ahead in their consideration of the future. Their investment in education, infrastructures, environment, science, etc is amazing, while I see America stagnating. Good luck. I hope that the environmental focus is matched with the equivalent effort on making things better. <3

I wonder that maybe Americans need to deal with smog and pollutions the likes of which Chinese have had to deal with, to wake up to the reality that pollution is a serious threat. But I guess it's not too bad that quite a lot of people seem to somewhat care about it... We have so many anti-climate change people too here though. :/

I think, despite the fact that China is a top-polluting country, this country has a big chance to become a leader in developing eco-system and new technologies for supporting global ecology. They are starting to move in that direction very confidently..
And thanks for the good words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56