Why I Decide To Learn Coding At This Old Age

in #coding6 years ago (edited)

Two days ago I wrote a post on @WAfrica blog titled Arise Africa: Cheetah Africa Launch, and my true followers on Steemit knows that I'm a strong advocate for blockchain adoption in Africa. In the post I mentioned that it's important that we start to garner enough skills to be able to create value in the blockchain/cryptocurrency.

I'm not the kind of preacher who says do as I preach and not as I do.
Long story short. I have decided to start learning programming this weekend.
IMG_20180812_192645_507.JPG
Yes. I wish I had learned it 50 years ago, but I think it's not too late to start a new beginning once the tunnel vision is still clear to you.

For the last six months I have devoted my time to understand more about this technology. But I don't just want to be a consumer, I want to be able to create value too. To contribute towards its development, to be able to explore it fully well.

So you ask which language I'll start with? After a discussion with @surfyogi, I wanted to start with JavaScript but I changed my mind to start instead with the Almighty Python.

Why Python?? dance???

I'm much more interested in logic than in visuals which translate that I'm not interested in back-end coding than in front-end coding.
PicsArt_08-12-07.14.23.png
I also learned from @gutzygwin that he's taking this journey with me, so let's get out there and kick some ass.

Thanks @surfyogi for always pushing me towards those dreams I harbour. I thought it's gonna be a very difficult thing to do but I realised if I'm going to stay relevant in this industry then I'll have to have some understanding of coding so I'll be able to make inform decisions.

I'll keep you all updated with my progress. I also want to encourage everyone to gather the right skills that will keep you relevant in the blockchain ecosystem. Don't just be a consumer, Arise and Shine.

Sort:  

There's a Chinese saying that says, "the best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago, the second best time is now..."

I believe this is the best time for you to learn coding and since you are passionate about it you'll definitely enjoy it and be successful.

I'm not a coder but your decision to START is the beginning of success.

I didn't know it was Chinese but that quote has played a major role in my decision now.

In the future which is here already, one need to equipped himself with the right tool to fit into the society as the world advances.
I will join you in learning this when all logistics are set in place

We'll be waiting for you sir.

Cool bro. Can't wait to add value with you all the way. Let's go code seeking. My man! 😂

All the way Mon, it's sure gonna be fun.

@Surfyogi has the strength to bring the best out of people. He's given me so much support and inspiration to make me do greatness. Many lives have been impacted to bring much significance to this blockchain community. But l think it is never too old to learn @lordjames.

Never too old to start a new beginning.

I love the fact you always think about the future and not just the present, you don't just rely on the information you have now you always want to know more, your hunger for knowledge amaze me and I'm so glad I get to know you!

I've seen your effort round the community. You will get far. Goldfish has no hiding place.

Really you're hard-woker... Dam nice intention

Wow, that's amazing!! As Complicated and advanced python coding is. It's an advanced software that has really gave birth to so many innovations.

Learnjng coding, is a plus 5 to your portfolio. Keep it bro, you are on the right step to becoming a developer @lordjames

Little by little, says a thoughtful boy
Moment by moment, I'll employ.
Learning a little everyday.

Love that man.. Kudos to you bro @lordjames

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations learning a lot from you everyday here too...

It’s never too late to learn something new! Especially something that you think will help you very positively!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75