Coffee from around the world - Tanzania Tweega - a delicious cup

in #coffee6 years ago

TanzaniaTweegaSack_1024x1024.png

2nd January 2018 and yes I am back to work, which is good news Steemians because it means I can continue my popular series on the amazing coffee I get to work with every day.

TZ_1.jpg

Source: https://falcon-specialty.myshopify.com/collections/tanzania/products/tweega-aa

If you have not tried coffee from Tanzania you should, it is a wonderful African coffee full of flavour. Let's take a look at the green coffee beans.

IMG_1335.JPG

And you should know by now that I roast these so that they can the be ground and brewed to make amazing coffee.

IMG_1331.JPG

It's another light roast, just after first crack to develop the best flavours but not smother them with too dark a roast.

IMG_1332.JPG

The beans in the Aeropress - my brewing method of choice. I measure out the dose of beans into the Aeropress, and the tip them into the grinder and grind straight back into the Aeropress.

IMG_1333.JPG

Once ground, I tend to use a setting between filter and espresso for the Aeropress. Now to add hot - but not boiling water, as near to 90 degrees Celsius as you can get.

My must have acquisition for 2018 is a tripod mount, wobbly videos are just not the thing - after all this isn't the Blair Witch Project I am producing!

IMG_1338.JPG

Back on the cup and we are ready to plunge this coffee of delight.

IMG_1340.JPG

Rich colour and great aroma from this coffee - let's learn a little more about it.

tweegaoverview.png

tanzaniatweegadescription.png

tweegacupprofile.png

So we now know what to expect - and how does it taste?

IMG_1345.JPG

Delicious, definitely getting the cranberries from this cup. Let's enjoy some of the colourful photos my broker provides.

TZ2.jpg

TZ3.jpg

What are these wonderful, hard working ladies doing? Sorting the coffee beans. Coffee is graded - on bean size, and also to get a greater price for coffee it needs careful sorting to remove stones, foreign objects and defective beans. This process is still mostly done by hand - a long, hard and tedious task to ensure each 60kg sack of coffee contains only the best coffee beans and nothing else. Until you get a cup of delicious coffee the journey is long and hard, it can take upto 4 years for a coffee plant to grow and finally produce coffee cherries. Collecting the coffee cherries because of where the coffee plants prefer to grow at high altitude and also to protect the plants so they keep on producing fruit has to be done by hand - then it needs drying to remove the two beans from the single cherry, the beans need sorting and then putting in a sack. Then it needs shipping from the growing region in the world to where the green coffee is needed.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord https://discordapp.com/channels/374566683920171023/374576552068775946

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Few people know the hard times people go through to harvest coffee

I know, so much work goes on in the journey to a cup of coffee. Thanks for taking a look and leaving a comment.

Dope post! Love the Aeropress tips, too. I have switched to using it every day and I love it. I have just been using the scoop that came with it to measure the beans- is that right? Question- do you stir in the bloom that the grinds create when you add the water, or just leave it?
Beautiful photos and I love all the coffee info!! I'm excited to follow your posts this year. Cheers!

Nice post , sir.
These are popular brand coffee in Myanmar

0000027054_img4.jpg

Excelllent, it really is very good coffee

Nice post my dear friend

thank you for the continued support, keep

Do you have colourful headgear @OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @c0ff33a to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You got a 25.46% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @c0ff33a!

This post has received a 13.30 % upvote, thanks to: @c0ff33a.

This post has received a 16.89 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @c0ff33a.

Greate article! Very informative.

This post has received a 5.60 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @c0ff33a. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59