I'm roasting every day bro - Black and White Photo Challenge Day 5

in #coffee6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1229.JPG

I was very Kindly nominated for this challenge by @thethreehugs , this is day 5 and I'm going to ignore the no explanation rule as usual. It's been a busy week clearing all my orders before the Christmas break, roasting coffee day in and day out it's been

Green in, brown out - seems easy right? But like baking a cake timing and temperature is essential - too quick and we don't develop the flavours of the coffee - too slow and it bakes developing unwanted flavours and loosing the best. So it's a delicate balance.

So when I roast it is all about getting the roast to work right, when I drop the coffee in to roast it reduces the temperature of the drum - to counteract this I have the gas flame high giving more heat and the airflow out of the drum closed down - the aim being to reduce the turn around temperature - this is how low the drum drops to before the coffee stops cooling the drum and starts getting hot instead. When I reach turn around, so the drum starts heating up again - I reduce the flame and start to open the air flow. This will stretch out the roast - a high flame all the way through would roast the coffee too quickly and it would not develop the flavours - depending on the coffee load and also the origin of coffee will dictate the flame height to give - every coffee origin needs a different flame height and lower weight of coffee (it's a 5kg roaster so that is the normal load) will need less flame to roast. While I log all the data to make it repeatable, the more you roast the more you just "feel" what you are doing with each origin - it's why people say that it can take ten's of years to learn to roast coffee well.

The Challenge:

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life.
Present one image every day for 7 days.
No people.
No explanation.
Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in.
Use the tag #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags.

Today I nominate @mokh-tar who consistently works hard at his blog posts and I am sure is more then capable of handling this challenge.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord https://discordapp.com/channels/374566683920171023/374576552068775946

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations @c0ff33a, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2857 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5020.13. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You got a 6.75% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @c0ff33a!

This is your company of coffee ?

Thanks for the looking and leaving a comment, it is my business.

Like the picture, and also the beans flowing into the roaster - very clever.

Thanks, it was tricky holding the camera up on the bean hopper to capture it - but it worked quite well I think.

Thank you for your nomination and I will try my best to be as you think @c0ff33a

I am sure you will do very well at it, thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment.

That machinery just looks cool. :D

Ironically, it gets very hot while I'm roasting!

I like those light rays and the gleaming metal!

Both roasters have an inspection light - it is used so when I take a sample to check the roast colour I have consistent lighting for checking the colour.

Thanks for the wonderful participation
In this challenge
@klasanaj

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment.

good post thank you

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment.

For the picture it is very wonderful
The video is not talkative, you have a special way of making coffee
Thank you for sharing this work with us
i resstemed

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87