Does Coinbase Pick Favorites? (New Coins? When Lambo?)

in #coinbase6 years ago


Coinbase came out with a blog post today about coins that it was researching into adding to the platform potentially in the future. I was actually totally thrown off by the ones they announced.

Cardano (ADA)
Basic Attention Token (BAT)
Stellar Lumens (XLM)
Zcash (ZEC)
0x (ZRX)

https://blog.coinbase.com/coinbase-is-exploring-cardano-basic-attention-token-stellar-zcash-and-0x-9e44f0eb823f

I own some Cardano and Stellar and I was shocked about both of those to be honest with you.

The one that I'm actually the most surprised about was Basic Attention Token (BAT). I guess I'm just not really that sold on if the mechanism is going to work and furthermore it is an ERC-20 token so how will it get past the issues if Ethereum doesn't scale fast enough? The same could be said for 0x as well.

I wouldn't have been as surprised if the blog post would have at least included EOS, NEO, TRON, and NEM in their "exploration."

I personally didn't expect to see STEEM in there to be honest with you. There are too many questions about the initial distribution and the amount that Steemit INC has and the founders. Sometimes the truth hurts and if you go to the @steemit wallet you can end up clicking down a rabbit whole for days on all the accounts they keep sending money to. Steemit2, Steemit3.......etc. So It is hard telling how much money is out there and we don't really who owns @freedom.

I think in general it is safe to say that Coinbase doesn't like Delegated Proof of Stake coins and that is why EOS and TRON weren't included. I'm not sure why NEO wouldn't be looked at. And then with DASH and Monero they are likely to scared to add those.

Does It Matter If They Don't Add Your Coin?

It would certainly be nice but to be honest I don't think they will add these anytime soon. It will probably take them 8 months of research or more. They are so slow at adding coins it is nuts. Also it still will take more money coming in to the space to make everything surge in a sustainable manor.

These projects could be good ones to possibly keep an eye on and take a position if you don't already have one.

Were you guys shocked at the projects they announced?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

I have been pretty tuned out to crypto lately but accidentally started watching a video today that talked about this very issue. I was shocked to hear there picks. I personally don't really care for any of these coins. I like the Brave Browser but not really sold on teh coin itself. I had so much Stellar that I sold so I missed the bump on that one. I know very little about Cardano and 0x, I was never sold on Cardano back when there was all that hype about it right before I tuned out.

While I hate the coin I'm surprised Ripple wasn't included. Surprised Ethereum Classic wasn't included since I believe they already have the ability to support it going back to the fork.

To me the best coins are coins that have communities or working projects and are not just far fetched ideas. Too bad Steemit fucked the duck in regards to distribution or it may have had a shot.

Well Ethereum Classic is officially getting added in the next couple of months. They announced that a couple of weeks ago. These 5 they are exploring so they may or may not be added in the future.

I'm also suprised they don't just give in and list Ripple as well. A lot of people who are newer to the space and suddenly became attracted to Ripple are pretty upset. Especially since there were all those rumors about Ripple that went back to January and someone created that convincing fake video where Ripple was integrated into the platform. LOL

I never had any luck with the Brave browser on Android or Linux and never ended up getting free coins in any of the airdrops. Plus I never thought the Basic Attention Token made complete sense to me.

With Cardano and Stellar I have some just to have a position but I'm not in love with those projects.

And with 0x I sort of tune out in a way when someone is building on the Ethereum platform and saying how it is going to do all this and that. I have heard it before and Ethereum isn't capable of all that at this point.

STEEM is like the greatest thing and the saddest story. Like it is so amazing but sometimes I just look at the ground and take a deep breath and shake my head.

The times when I really am blown away by what the community has done is when I see like 50 or 100 or more people getting together in some of these other countries for a meetup to talk about STEEM. It is pretty amazing and they are certainly excited about it.

I also think that Byteball was extremely smart for leveraging the STEEM community to do their airdrop. It is sort of ridiculous in a way that we have never got airdrops on here from Steemit INC in a lot of ways but they secured their future. They can play video games at the office for the next 10 years if they want to.

I totally forgot about the ETC announcement before. Any word on when that's gonna hit Coinbase? Think it will get a pump? That's one of the few alts I'm still sitting on. While I'd love to see a pump it seems like the days of things getting a huge pump just because they were added to Binance or CB are kind over. It seems the speculation over something getting added is bigger than it actually getting added

I think it will hit in a couple of months. I think it will have a fatty pump before and after it gets on there. I mean for a lot of newer people they will probably see it and it will have the lowest price point of any of the offerings on there and figure they should pick up a little bit of it.

Under The Table Payments lol

Possibly. I think everyone is a little confused by their decisions on adding new coins.

I’m writng a post about it lol

Not a single coin on this list makes any sense to me.

Damn! @freedom is one of the biggest hodlers of Steem and I wasn't aware of their presence.

Probably because they haven't posted once and only use their massive holding for bot-user delegation returns.

This whole ninja mine thing is quite disheartening, even though I still have faith that Steem will succeed in spite of it.

The deeper you dig the more disheartening it becomes. It is literally the most amazing platform that has just taken one long turn after another.

We just have no clue how much is being controlled by a handful of people to be honest.

Not that I'm necessarily looking for a total hand out but one of the greatest successes of TRON was airdrops and airdrops are getting a lot of attention on EOS. Also the Byteball airdrop on here is exciting even though the bot is down right now.

Steemit INC could have solved the distribution issue partially by doing a series of airdrops for people with certain reputations and at least 500 SP and a certain level of activity. That would have pushed unreal demand and excitement and it would have been like a party on here again. But Steemit INC has secured their future and they can play video games for the next 10 years so congrats to them.

They have just screwed up so many times in my mind but we have learned a lot about governance and what is possible with this chain.

Nope the CEO of Coinbase is a major Ethereum Shill. He owns a lot of Eth based products.
Cardano is not even out yet.
And Stellar is a more decentralized version of Ripple...

It is strange because you would think he wouldn't take side on some of the stuff and just collect all the fees on the transactions. I can get why they might not add something like IOTA since there have been issues with that in some respects. And I get why they would take a stance on Ripple.

It's even wore than an announcement of an announcement. It's an announcement of a POSSIBLE announcement.

Totally not influencing the prices at all...

FOMOers gonna FOMO. The one that really surprises me is $BAT. I'm a Brave publisher, it's a mess. I gotta trick people into downloading Brave and use it to surf my website for a month? JSEcoin is in ICO right now. Way better.

until the antivirus/adblock starts blocking

Yeah, It is fluff in a lot of ways but we can expect they will at least pick some of those projects to add eventually.

It would be nice if they added"my coin" but unlikely. Frankly i was surprised when they added bch

I was surprised about BCH as well. That was sort of a reversal of the way they acted about it a couple months prior to that and I figured they would take the stance that people will get confused by what is the real Bitcoin.

I checked out the @steemit account and did notice they are sending a bunch of STEEM to steemit2. Once they did that, steemit2 then sends it to other accounts like alpha and then it gets sent to bitrex.

Wtf is going on...

they are a company. It there own stake. Steem should've had a better distribution system oh well.
I hope the selling they are doing is going to fund SMT development and/or dex building

It is hard to know exactly how all the money flows but there are a lot of accounts they waterfall it down to. It might be for some type of liquidity operations but who knows. They might have to cash out to pay themselves.

I know I bring this stuff to people's attention but ultimately even if @ned is paying himself $1 Million / month I don't feel like there is anything wrong with it. They set the system up and we are still here messing around whether it becomes a total time trap or something that earns some money is yet to be seen in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97