Why Cryptocurrency is Important to Me

in #coingecko6 years ago

Crypto Concept.png

Source

Since I was in High School, I have had a passion for investing and financial markets. After a Summer internship in High School where I made about $1,000, I quickly deposited all of my earnings into a Certificate of Deposit with a bank for a couple of months. Expecting to get more money months later, I was obviously disappointed with the $2.50 I made on interest! That start my interest in the trading markets. As online trading started to rise, my parents opened an account for me which I used to invest my savings. As luck would have it, I was about to be a part of one of the biggest bubbles in modern stock market history with the dotcom companies. I quickly learned the hard way that although luck is involved, skill was an important factor in picking great investments. The money I made and subsequently lost taught me many lessons of which I still apply today. It also led for me seeking a career in the financial industry and thus went on to college in search of this opportunity.

Fast forward many years, I continue to search for the next best technology. After experiencing firsthand the Financial Crisis of 2008, I committed myself to continue working hard to become financially independent. Unfortunately, I had become a part of the consumerist and debt culture of my generation. The banks really owned everything I had and I was not happy about that. After dedicating a good ten years to pay down all of my student and consumer debt, I was just left with the horrible mortgages the financial crisis left me. I was still not happy. However, instead of shifting my focus to paying the banks that did nothing to help me, I search for alternatives to become my own bank and to have the resources available for my needs, when I needed them.

Screen Shot 2018-07-19 at 6.24.54 PM.png

After the second rise and fall of bitcoin, I added the asset to my watch list and was determined to research and learn about it. I book a “Dummies” book to start my journey and immediately went down what many call the “rabbit hole.” As many investors would try to do, I waited to try to buy below $300 thinking it would get there. However, when the trend was clearly upwards, I started my purchasing of bitcoin in 2017. I once again found myself in a great asset and the right time. As the prices started to rise, I expanded my research to learn about the underlying technology, blockchain. As a financial market enthusiast, I immediately thought to myself that this would change the world we know similar to how the internet did! I immediately started to diversify my cryptocurrency holdings.

Screen Shot 2018-10-01 at 6.08.52 PM.png

I had up to 25% of my invested assets into cryptocurrencies as it was part of my strategy to remaining independent of the banking system. As Trace Mayer would say, controlling my cryptocurrencies is a matter of having my own monetary sovereignty. While I had start this through my precious metal purchases, I knew that cryptocurrencies was a viable alternatives with many other benefits. This is now my main strategy in becoming financially independent as projects I am involved in continue to develop and have the potential to change economies and industries.

Screen Shot 2018-10-01 at 6.08.40 PM.png

I also ran into #STEEM during a relaxing Christmas vacation and got myself into yet another rabbit hole which I have become passionate about. I have always enjoyed the ability to read and hear about others opinions regarding investments and cryptocurrencies which is why I have become very engaged on the #STEEM ecosystem. The communities developed here are amazing and to see the flexibility and potential regarding people, scaling, and transacting here have me very optimistic of the future of the platform. I hope to make #STEEM my largest investment as the journey has provided me much more than a financial incentive to share, a community to learn and help develop as blockchain technology evolves around the world. So while cryptocurrencies started as an investment vehicle to achieve financial independence, it has become much more and it now an integral part of my life (ask my wife).

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 6.14.26 PM.png

Source

Screenshot from CoinGecko Dashboard

I want to thank @coingecko for immediately engaging with the #STEEM community and presenting the opportunity to assist in our growth goals with this initiative. I have another post reviewing my experience with the website and can say that it is now my go-to site for cryptocurrency information and data. I also recently signed up and am enjoying the Dashboard they have put together to follow my portfolio. I encourage those that follow prices to use the site in support of a fellow community member giving back to the community with their stake.

This post is a submission to CoinGecko's ”Why Cryptocurrency Is Important To Me” Writing Contest

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

You’ve really been blessed in your investment journey, including the “bad” parts that taught you so much.

I can so relate to waiting for a price to drop that instead races away. But you still got in sooo early.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah. Just above $300 was a steal... I got to know about bitcoin when it was about $800

Awesome journey so far! The technology has great potential; only time will tell when though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you have had the good fortune of investing in electronic money at the right time. I also invest in electronic money but not much, And I hopefully in the last months of this year there will be good changes. Congratulation!

interesting. No wonder you're good with the charts and math

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.897 which ranks you at #11128 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 79 places in the last three days (old rank 11207).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #215.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89