Another Royal Canadian Mint Coin - Prehistoric Creatures Glow in the Dark Coin (Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai)

in #coins6 years ago

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Boxes 1.jpg

I mentioned in a previous post that I collect coins from the mint. I didn't really go into how I got started collecting coins. It was my daughter that got me started.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Clamshell Open 1.jpg

She had a coin collection when she moved in with her mom. It was mostly just circulation coins that she found in change that were something out of the ordinary. In Canada it seems like every year they come out with several different special edition circulation coins. During the olympics they released olympic coins, on Canada's centennial they released centennial coins, and so on. Those were the types she collected.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Clamshell Open 2.jpg

Christmas was coming and an advertisement for the Royal Canadian Mint popped up on my phone. It was for a silver coin that had a 50 dollar face value and it only cost 50 dollars. I went on their website and there was another coin. It was another silver coin but this one was 100 dollar face value and it was 100 dollars. This was about my price range for the kids Christmas presents and I was having a hard time deciding what to get for them. I decided to get her the two coins to add to her coin collection.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Insert 1.jpg

I was thinking about the deal that they had at the mint for the silver coins that cost face value. They had 20 dollar coins for 20 dollars, 25 dollar coins for 25 dollars, 50 for 50, 100 for 100, and even 200 dollar coins for 200 dollars. The smaller value coins were smaller in size. I think the smallest was 1/2 oz and the largest ones were up to 2 oz of silver. All of them were four nines fine silver. I decided to start buying them for myself as well.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Insert 2.jpg

They has subscriptions for all the face value coin series. I subscribed to them all. I thought I could always get my money back just on the face value. It wasn't an investment that was going to make a lot of money but I thought it was a good way to start into silver collecting without losing money. Now that I know a little more, it's just become about the fun of collecting the coins. I don't really consider the collection to be a great investment any more. I still love it just the same.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Insert 3.jpg

I eventually started collecting some of RCM's other silver coins. I started seeing coins that the face value was far less than the cost of the coin. Whatever it was that caught my eye, I started collecting some of them as well. The craftsmanship on the coins is amazing. The finish is perfect and they are made of silver. I was hooked.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Tails.jpg

This past year my daughter was having a hard time thinking of something to get me (I never know what I want). She found an older glow in the dark coin that was for sale somewhere in the city here and she decided to get me that. This one isn't a silver coin. It is just a cupronickel coin but it is coloured and they used some glow in the dark enamel on it to give it a neat effect.

RCM 25 Cent Pachyrhinosaurus Lukustai Heads.jpg

I tried to get a picture of the glow in the dark effect but I just couldn't get it. It's an older coin and it doesn't hold it's glow long enough to get a decent picture. I can tell you when you take it into the dark you can see the skeleton of the dinosaur glows.

It is a cool coin. It might not be silver but it'll still make a nice addition to my collection. I'm glad my daughter got it for me and now I can share it with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73