My Collaboration with Everlove's CAJ "As Above, So Below"

Wow!  It has been quite a while since the last Collaborative Art Journey, AND since I've posted anything. So, here goes.  It's time!

My Entry for @Everlove's Collaborative Art Journey #40 titled "As Above, So Below"

Sometimes with these Collaborative Art Journeys I don't have a plan. This was one of those times.  I decided to just start playing around with the original image. 

In case you haven't seen it, here is the original image:

What is it? 

Ripples on water? 

Window blinds?

I see canoe paddles, laid in a row.

The close-up view of an expandable file?

Well, whatever it is... I started removing some of the greens & yellows.  I added some pink. I ran some light blue stripes down through the pink... hmm... It was almost starting to look like an american flag, but with different colors. 

Maybe I could add some stars? 

Or - maybe my forget-me-not flowers from one of my paintings...?

I tried it. I erased some of the background of my painting. Seemed pretty cool. I added some splashes of blue & some yellow spots in the lower part. Eh. 

I was thinking that maybe I would just crop off the lower section... 

I tried layering the original photo back over the top and strategically made parts of it  transparent or erased completely to show the forget-me-nots below...

At some point, the lower area started reminding me of watermelon. so, I went with it. Accentuated it.

Voila!

What do you see?

You could say the seeds of the watermelon correspond to potential new life, future plants, mirrored by the blooming forget-me-not flowers.  But, for me, for whatever reason - the upper part reminds me of a pond with lily pads - even though they aren't lilypads at all. And, with that in mind, I am reminded of all the times I used to take my daughter (years ago) to feed the ducks at the pond.  We fed the ducks strawberries.  I know - strawberries are not the same as watermelon.  But, hey - that's what it reminds me of.

Thanks for starting these Collaborative Art Journeys again, @Everlove!  I'm seeing that not many have responded yet.  But, give it time. Even if the old gang doesn't surface right away - I bet there are a whole lot of new artists out there who are lurking. Come join us!!  Here is the link to the original post.

Sort:  

I didn't seem to get notification of your entry--and I'm so glad I opened up my post and found you!!! This is AWESOME! I love your description that really gives us insight into where you are!

It's great how the watermelon took on life--it's perfect there! Watermelon is so watery that it naturally flowed to me to see how water can birth new life. Though the flowers obviously aren't watermelon flowers, the ripples seem to give motion and the feel that the flowers are floating.

So sweet that you added your art to mine and then transformed it even more into something to beautiful. Thank you for coming out to play. Who knows if anyone else will do it. I've been pretty much on the outside of Steemit for awhile. It's amazing how, with so many friends here for us all, one can so easily disappear and be off the radar.

Super grateful to share with you @pyrowngs! <3

That Is absolutely stunning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62