For the love of Depression Glass

in #collections5 years ago

20181221_130424_LLS.jpg

I dearly love that my parents worked very hard in the 70s to collect this set of Depression glass for me. This time of year it really makes a nice table setting. It was produce in the 20s till the 40s and sold at dime stores and given away in theaters, gas stations (for oil changes) and other stores after a purchase of a set amount.

There are several patterns and colors. Royal or Lace Edge, Princess, Modern, Mayfair, American Sweetheart and Cameo, just to name a few. Colors also were part of the love of this glass. Pink which came in several hues, green, yellow and blue.

While my dining table is just a sample of my collection, you can see that I have many more pieces.

20181221_130146_LLS.jpg20181221_130244_LLS.jpg

Sorry my pictures are side ways seems I have this issue all the time.

My mother kept meticulous records of each purchase. I was just a kid when they were starting this collection there wasn't internet to find it. They scoured the newspaper and other sources to locate sales of pieces. While they were collecting this pattern they were also collecting another pattern, called Royal/or Lace Edge which is also beautiful.

My pattern looks something like this, very hard to get a good picture of glass!

20181221_130516_LLS.jpg

As a PSA please if you have this type of glass DO NOT put it in a dish washer! It creates cloudy or "Sick" glass. My mother did get away with it but she didn't use the sets that much.

Sort:  

I remember blue glass most of all. Then I remember pink glass next in volume of places seen. Thank you for the headsup about not washing these glass dishes in the dishwasher. Is a very beautiful table you set!

The collected a 4 place setting of plates and glasses in the blue modern tone, my oldest daughter has that set. Her grand mother gave that to her after she was married. She now is the owner of her grand mother's dining room set and hutch and displays it proudly.

Thank you. I didn't feel like setting up the table last year, was barely able to get a tree up. But this year it's help ed and given me great pleasure to have it all set up. Wait till Easter! I have a beautiful set of china that fits the season!

Nice story behind the glassware. The table setting looks wonderful too. As far as your pictures being turned, I still have the old Picassa program to edit pictures and you might be able to find a download from download.com. There's an option to rotate the picture. Maybe someone else knows of a free picture edit program if you can't get Picassa.

Thanks for the tip! Weird how they look correct and then turn sideways on me. I go in turn them and they still load goofy.

Congratulations @moistyboo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59