Use of the word cotton picking mind

in #color6 years ago

Use of the word cotton picking mind

When growing up that phrase was used quite often. It was the euphemistic way of saying m….. f...... mind. I never associated racial connotations to the phrase.

Another, even softer interpretation is, “The adjective "cotton-picking" has roots in the American South and has historically been used as a synonym for "damned." “

Fast forward to today.

Recently, “Brian Davis (white), who has done play-by-play for the Thunder on Fox Sports Oklahoma for eight seasons, said that Westbrook (black) was “out of his cotton-picking mind” after the NBA star picked up an assist in the second quarter of their win against the Memphis Grizzlies.”

It didn’t take long before someone tied it to race and the next thing you know Brian is suspended for making a derogatory and inappropriate statement.

Shortly after his suspension, he offered the following apology. “It is with great remorse and humility that I accept this suspension for the insensitive words I used during Wednesday’s broadcast,” he said. “While unintentional, I understand and acknowledge the gravity of the situation. I offer my sincere apology and realize that, while I committed a lapse in judgment, such mistakes come with consequences. This is an appropriate consequence for my actions.”

To me, this is ridiculousness at its best. In today’s hyper race sensitive culture even non racial things are becoming racial. Soon, one may be unable to say, “I like the color white.” Or “I hate the color black.” This will be interpreted as code for supporting racist organizations.

Too much sensitive have made racial issues worse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55