A Green Thursday Thoughts

Join me in my brain vomit and let's talk about how ideas can make us rich.

*****

Hey Steemians!

I know you're all waiting for my China vlog. Sorry I've been so busy with work that I haven't had the time to edit! I SWEAR I will start editing it this weekend!

But in the meantime, let's light a candle, drink some matcha tea, and chat.

tea600.png

I wanted to talk about this book I started reading. It's called Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill. My mom sent this over a couple of months ago and as always, I took my sweet time going over her recommendations.

So far the book isn't that bad, it reads like something that was written solely for profit. The first beginning dragged on and on, boasting about some special advice that will change your life. To be fair, what I've gotten out of the first two chapters so far is pretty thought-provoking.

It addresses this concept of how just having an idea and the burning desire to make this idea come true, can, in fact, will it to come true. Of course, there has to be some hard work involved. But it speaks to that inner obsessive nature that some of us are cursed (or in this case blessed) with.

The author tells stories of individuals who wouldn't take no for an answer and obsessively worked towards an idea. One of the stories that really stood out to me was about Henry Ford. His story was that of the famous V8 engine and how it came to fruition.

2606391969_184007abd7_z.jpg

Ford instructed his engineers to create an engine with all eight cylinders in one block. (I'm not a car person or an engineer, so I cannot fully grasp how difficult this could have been.) His engineers stated that it was impossible, but he set them to work on it anyways and wouldn't take no for an answer. After a year of his engineers claiming its impossibility and him continuously sending them back to the drawing board, the V8 engine was created. He succeeded his impossible dream just because he refused to accept that it was as they said, impossible. And with that impossible dream, he changed the automotive industry.

I was intrigued by the stories in this chapter, as when I was young I truly believed that I could will things to happen. It was more blind faith than anything else. However, as I grew older and experienced the world's harsh realities I found that faith eroding. Now, it's interesting to read something that in a way confirms that blind faith while simultaneously hearing the naysayers from my past in my head; I can't help but wonder.

The second chapter put some things into perspective. It emphasized that even with an idea, a dreamer needs this obsessive drive to succeed. I can agree with this, as I've heard ideas thrown at me all the time, but I've rarely seen them put into action. The author claims that we must have our end goal, a plan to get there and this burning ambition to not give in or give out to anything else but this end goal.

Now, this has me thinking that I may be on the right track. After quitting my side job and putting my everything into HyperFundIt and Steemit with absolutely no fallback or security blanket, I can see myself more focused and driven for success. I am constantly battling my personal phobia of failure, but this time I see myself coming out on top. I have the end goal and a plan to get there, I guess all I need now is to continue down this obsessive path and have a little blind faith.

What do you guys think? Do you think all of Hill's "wisdom" is BS or do you think it rings true?

Let me know because I'd love to explore this deeper with you all!

XOXO,
Gossip Girl AllsTheFoods ;)

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75