Phytolacca acinosa - Colorchallenge Monday Red

in #colorchallenge5 years ago

This photo is my entry for the #colorchallenge.

0tdqcym0dh.jpg

In the spring, I walked many times past small thickets of a plant that looked like an ordinary weed, which does not deserve special attention.

Perhaps the wind brought seeds to the backyards of our house.

A couple of days ago, I saw berries on top of the stems. The stems became bright, red, and the berries looked like black gems with a strange cut.

Earlier, I had not seen anything like it.

I began to ask the old-timer what the name of this plant is. I was told that it is poisonous, but what it is called, I did not recognize.

The answer did not satisfy my curiosity. I began to search and found the answers on Wikipedia.

It turns out that, all this plant is edible. Berries, stems, everything is used as food. Leaves are used in salads. To us, this plant came from Southeast Asia.

His name - Phytolacca acinosa.

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
Author @barski
Ukraine

Sort:  

the reds really pop and highlight those berries

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97