ColorChallenge Monday Red: How it became my favorite: The story of a delicate poppy child.

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

20170317_132725.jpg

Poppy is my favorite flower since my very early years.
It reminds me of longing, loyalty, hope, passion, and tears of a child.

Poppy flower is known by being vulnerable. It has very thin, delicate branches and leaves that can be driven away with a small breeze. Dark spots on a bright red color offers a contrary scene. If you pick it, it loses his will to live and be in this world, in few minutes. They can grow seperate from each other, even on kerbside to live and die alone.

I didn't know about these when I was 5 though. Back then, my mom was frequently away and working, and I was in the constant state of longing. Even when she was in my arms, I could cry missing her, smelling her hair.

When the day poppy flower became my favorite, it was a hot summer day. I was spending few weeks away from her, playing with my friends outside all day, but still having her in my mind. We decided to had a climbing competetion between. The brave children of summer had range of mission including climbing, running, getting rid of a scary big black dog. At the end, the first person who reaches the spot can own his/her favorite flower there, and name the all territory after it. How cool it was!

When I reached the top, I realized I was the first one. I saw the poppy flower, in a different spot than any others, looking so sad. It seemed like she misses someone, and the pain makes her feel lonely. The spots on it was so dark, yet it was shining under sun, trying to stand strong. Of course, I associated myself with the flower and named all the territory after it. Everyone was supposed to pick and take it with them home, but I was the only one who left it there crying. I chose to keep her alive, but kept the memory of my love, longing, my passion and courage (remember the big dog!) with me till this day.

And this image was taken a year ago when I was in university and missing my mom in the same way after 18 years. While going to class, saw my old friend poppy, stopped to take a quick photo. This time it made me smile, and feel thankful for still having her in my life.

So, this is what I see, till today, when I look at my favorite flower, Poppy.

Sort:  

Congratulations @birdlover! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72