Colorchallenge Saturday: Indigo Irises in my yard

I haven't posted in #colorchallenge in awhile and was inspired to do so this morning as I was out strolling around my yard admiring the flowers that have bloomed so far this spring. My favorites (stargazer lilies) have yet to bloom and they won't for another month or so but I did get a picture of these indigo irises that live next to my driveway and come up every year.

iris.JPG

They've been open for over a week now and I find myself speeding by and barely noticing them on weekday mornings when I'm in a hurry to get to work. It's nice to have an easy morning with no obligations and I really enjoyed taking a few minutes to go outside, walk around, and enjoy the beauty that surrounds my home which I too often take for granted or don't notice because I'm so busy being caught up in the hustle and chaos of adult life.

Irises are one of my favorite flowers and I remember my parents had a bunch of them growing in a garden next to the house when I was young. So maybe I'm a little biased because I grew up having these flowers in the yard at my parents' old house.

Next to these flowers in the picture there was also a deep purple and a yellow one but their blooms have since withered and I already miss seeing them even if only for a brief second as I back out of the driveway so quickly 5 days a week.

I really enjoyed slowing down and take a few minutes to enjoy the natural beauty that surrounds me and I'm thankful for a peaceful, quiet Saturday morning enjoying the simpler things in life. This is a great start to my weekend!

Sort:  

Beautiful flowers! Great to see you participating in #colorchallenge. As always thank you John S.

Yeah I used to do the #colorchallenge more often and then I kind of ran out of material there for a bit...I had a big backlog of what I deemed as post-worthy pictures on my computer from previous vacations and other pictures I'd taken over the years. That lasted for a couple of months but now I'm at the point where I post stuff that I've just recently taken photos of.

I think this is the first Indigo I've ever done though...I usually did colorchallenge during the work week because the posts usually require less time and editing than some of the other stuff I share.

Spring stopped on us here on the MS Gulf Coast. We have had no rain for a month so just as the colors starting coming things started drying but I am able to find amazing colors in the tiny things using macro photography. My simple camera (pictured) has a super macro setting that works pretty good.

IMG_1057.JPG

Cool! Beautiful flowers for a beautiful Saturday morning.

wow,you selecting very perfect colour on saturday.indigo is a good colour one of them.just excellent shots photography..obviously wonderfull.my dear friend.. @cryptokeepr

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94