Map of Mystery Bangkok Thailand colorchallenge wednesdayyellow

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Maps are not the same in Thailand as the type I am used to. Often they do not read north to south and instead go in the direction of the main road in the area. This one is north to south-ish and it is showing my local area. I still cannot decipher it.

map of mystery Bangkok Thailand yellow color challenge wednesday fitinfun.jpg

This is from the same mall magazine which I showed you for the Monday Red challenge.

I showed it to one of my Thai friends and she told me not to use it. She said, “It doesn't show you where we are, and you cannot use it to get over there.”

The one thing I do recognize is the Phaholyothin MRT Station. Thai does not translate well to our western alphabet, and so this station call be spelled in many ways. When they call the station as you ride the train, it is said:

Po-Ho-Yo-Tin!

in a very short and quick way. It makes me smile every time I hear it.

My post today is for #colorchallenge #wednesdayyellow by @kalemandra.

Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Nothing at fitinfun would be possible if I was still obese. Find out how well natural methods work for weight loss and you can do this too!

Help Me Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I keep posting on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are my wallet and PayPal addresses where I will be so grateful for any help. You can check out my Ulogs for details of our situation. Any input or ideas will also be so welcome. I thank you so much for your support.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

I live off Phahon Yothin, out in Saphan Mai...its spelt differently on every other street sign! I use this version, but Phahol Yothin is more common.
I think that map isnt bad tbh, its those ridiculous street signs with all the roads at right angles that confuse me!
and I love Union Mall :-)

loll - It's so funny what we have to learn here. I live in the big hole to the right. Lots of buses can get you there, I guess. I was shocked by the pronunciation when I figured it out :)

I'm studying Thai up here in Chiang Mai, and even in our Thai class, we get words that are sometimes spelled one way, and the next day, spelled another way! A bit confusing, to say the least.

And just being out and about, I've come across 2 different signs with what seemed like 2 different words. On closer inspection, however, the 2 words turn out to be the SAME word, with quite different spellings.

Then again, I used to teach English, and I honestly believe that English is more confusing than Thai.

Typical of Asia. Even in well-developed Japan, one often sees maps where north might face DOWN, or RIGHT, or LEFT, or any random, unspecified direction. It was kinda annoying at first, but eventually, I got used to the "Confucian confusion."

p.s. I hope you can find your way home ... regardless of directionless map!!

I always take photos of maps to look at them later and figure them out. Now I just move in the general direction and plan for the best :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55