Color Challenge - Monday Red - Rose Hips


Rampant Rose Hips


Is it just me or is there an abundance of rose hips this year?

I'm not sure if it's my imagination or whether there really are more than usual, possibly due to the wonderful summer we've had.

Or maybe it just seems that way because this is my first August on Steemit and I'm paying more attention to colours and photographic opportunities in general.

Their strong shape and vibrant colours certainly make for attractive photographs.

rose hips.jpg

Did you know that both rose hips and rose petals are edible?

They are a great source of vitamin C and have many uses from rosehip tea to rosehip syrups. You can, in fact get all the Vitamin C you need by simply taking a rosehip supplement on a daily basis.

rose hips.png

Has anybody even eaten one raw? I'm tempted to try it. 😁

I would imagine they are very tart otherwise eating them would be a common thing.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thanks to @kalemandra for the daily color challenge.

Sort:  

Well. I've heard of rose hips forever, but have never actually seen a picture of one. Now I know. They look like radishes.

They are a bit like radishes @negativer but flatter. And they grow on buses rather than in the ground, of course. 😂

No! I did not know before I read this post.

I might go hunt some rose hips now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98