Color Challenge - Saturday Indigo - Mystery Flower


Indigo Flowering Thingy


OK flower aficionados . . . any ideas on this one?

I can't even remember where I took it. Was it Clivedon House? Was it the garden centre or was it in a Sussex Lane?

Is it even indigo? No need to answer that one. It is on my screen and it was in real life so I'm calling it is, and let that be an end to it! 😁

indigo flower.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!



Thanks to @kalemandra for the daily color challenge.

Sort:  

No clue :)

The questions was answered in the comments @cryptowithincin. Apparently it is Glechoma hederacea.

Thank you for visiting. 😊

@gillianpearce , I think it's meadow or field plants, but I don't remember their name.

You may be right @madlenfox because now I look closer I can see some grass it he picture amongst the petals. 😊

There's some indigo in there somewhere. The different light makes these flowers cover a range of purples to indigo. I think.

That's what I thought @steven-patrick and then I've got all bases covered! 😊

I think this is ground-ivy (Glechoma hederacea). It is known under a great many other English names as well.

Really. I would never have guessed that @ocrdu.

Just checked. I don't think it is. These plants are upright and the flowers are about 1" or more long. Too big for ground ivy.

Nice try though! 😁

These plants are upright

So is Glechoma hederacea, especially when in bloom.

and the flowers are about 1" or more long. Too big for ground ivy.

Ten to 25mm, so not unusual for Glechoma hederacea; it's a variable-size species.

The flowers are a dead ringer for Glechoma hederacea, in every detail. I would be very surprised it this isn't ground ivy. But I've been surprised before; I think it was in 1982.

Ha, ha, ha. Since you're so sure @ocrdu I'm going to go with ground ivy then. Maybe I was looking at a different species because the picture I saw on Google looked nothing like the one in real life.

But I just looked again and found another photograph that does look like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85