Color Challenge - Thursday Green - Baby Gunnera


Young Gunnera


Gunnera Plants.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

On our walk in Sheffield Park earlier this week, we came across these Gunnera plants at the edge of a lake.

Since it is early Spring and they have only just started to grow you can imagine how monstrous they will be by the end of summer.

Gunnera Bud.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Here's a picture of when the buds first come out.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Gunnera Child.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

And here's a shot including my three year old grandson to give you an idea of the scale of these amazing plants. They are already taller than him and he is actually very tall for his age!!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

If we return to Sheffield Park later in the season I will take some photographs of the Gunnera full size.



Thanks to @kalemandra for the daily color challenge.

Sort:  

It is a tall and kind of odd looking plant. They have a prehistoric or alien appearance. I would imagine you would need quite a bit of garden space in order to grow them at home.

I know I haven't seen anything like them before. Are they native to the UK?

I think they might be South American @glenalbrethsen. Not sure. You would certainly need a very large garden to grow them in at home but they are not uncommon in large public gardens in the UK.

In the South of England anyway!

@gillianpearce, I don't seem to know this plant. At least I can't recognize him from your picture. Maybe I will be able to recognize it already in a large size when it grows up :). Now is a very interesting period - spring. Every day we can see any changes in nature. Everything is growing at an incredible rate, heh . Every day there is something new :)

Yes. I agree @madlenfox. The changes in nature are coming very fast. Maybe more so because the winter seemed to last longer than usual.

I love this time of year. 😊

Oh my goodness, I have not seen one of those plants since I stopped selling years ago. I had one in my garden for awhile and it was enormous. So cool to see one again.

They are actually quite common here @sunscape but only in very big gardens! 😁

That's really cool; that top photo contains a bunch of stuff I've never seen before. It could be an alien planet for all I know. Pretty cool!

They are actually relatively common in the UK @negativer. As long as there is enough space to grow them in. 😊

Loading...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60