You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bird's Nest with Autumn Colour. Red. Orange. Colour Challenge. Ephemeral Art. Original Photography.

in #colorchallenge5 years ago

Although I haven't seen the Autumn leaves "turning" in well over four decades, I can still remember ironing those wonderfully coloured leaves in between sheets of wax paper for elementary school.

My 80+ y/o mother still has a few of them hanging in picture frames on the walls of her New England home.

Imagine that?

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Sort:  

I'd forgotten that technique for the preservation of the colour of the Autumn leaves @jaichai. That's such great news for me: That the leaves have kept their colour after all that time because I'm using the red and orange leaves in my eco containers, made with the leaves embedded in different types of rice papers to then form a paper mache. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I must confess that I probably inherited my OCD from my mother because all her homes possess the temperature, lighting and humidity of a museum!

And I suspect that those factors have played a big role in keeping my Mom's personal treasures in good shape through the years.

Namaste, JaiChai

Also people used to take care of their personal treasures so that they would last well past their use-by dates. A good attitude to have in a world that throws away anything that starts to look just a tad 'old/dull' or outdated.

I have some of my mother's personal treasures and really value them. Caring for 'things' is a good trait to still have, and for others to help nurture.

Namaste. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Well said.

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66