Color Challenge - Saturday Indigo - Klimt Details

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

KlimtDeet1.jpg
Photo credit: @brianreecegreen
Date: July 2015
Art credit: Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer II by Gustav Klimt
Museum: MOMA, NYC

First a bit of information about this painting: it was owned by Oprah Winfrey until the summer of 2016 when she sold it to unnamed Chinese buyer for $150 million. It was removed from the MOMA shortly thereafter and will hang in the private, unnamed buyer's home until he decides to lend it out or sells it. So it isn't available to the public anymore and not for the foreseeable future. I'm grateful we saw it when we could.

Anyway, Indigo is a hard color to define since it comes in multiple shades. I decided to show the detail of this famous Klimt painting because it shows multiple shades of indigo from dark indigo in the middle circle to a more magenta shade. Also, as I said in a prior post about my husband's own art, it's always amazing to see a painting up close like this. It becomes clear that in true art every single bit of it can stand on its own in beauty.

Below is another close-up photo taken by @brianreecegreen (my husband) and below that is a picture provided for reuse online. You can see how much detail is missing from the last picture taken for magazine and book publishing purposes. Seeing art in person is so moving and inspiring. Photos simply can't capture it all.

KlimtDeet2.jpg

292px-Gustav_Klimt_047.jpg

Sort:  

Ohhh! This game of colors!! Very peculiar!! Great job! Follow you and waiting for more)) Good luck!

Thanks! It's a fun little challenge with a new color every day. :) Following you back!

Please forgive my ignorance... and English not being my mother tongue might be an excuse to some degree...

May I ask, what is a colorchallenge? Google translate only returns "Colorchallenge" :-/

Hi! Don't worry about asking. I'm happy to answer. Because Steemit doesn't allow a tag to be two words, we have to combine color and challenge together for the tag. But Color Challenge is a daily contest (though I don't think they give a prize out or name a winner) to post a picture of something based on the given color. Today--Monday--the color is red. Yesterday the color was purple. I'm not sure who is in charge of choosing the daily color. I just click on the colorchallenge tag to see what color people are posting on any given day. Does this make sense? :)

Makes a lot of sense, thank you very much. I got a similar hint from a friend a moment ago and threw in my red too :-) Thanks a lot for the upvote and apologies that mine doesn't add much.

May I invite you to check my today's post "Temple of the Secrets"?

I was offline most of the day yesterday, but will check it out today! :D

Absolutely stunning and I am glad I have seen quite a few of Klimt's originals. Sad only, that such great works of art today often become nothing but objects of speculation..

Yes, I agree. I was curious about the unnamed Chinese buyer planning to keep it in his private collection rather than lend it to museums and such. I wondered if he just loves it so much that he wants to look at it all the time, or if there is a component of driving the price up by keeping it out of the public eye for awhile. Thanks for the thoughtful comment!

Yes, its a tricky issue. Actually, from what I know, it has become a "bad" habbit to use exactly what we would normally find good, to drive up the prices. Collectors lend their art to museums. Alright now, thats not so bad, if it was for the reason to share a special piece of art with the public. Plus, the museum doesn't have to come up with astronomical amounts of money to get these artworks.

Thought behind it is, that any artwork, which was shown in an (important) museum experiences an extreme increase in value. In this case, Ms Oprah just used a proven method. Leaves the question, of what the intention of the new owner is... so far I don't think its to drive up the price (see above ;-) )

This is really fascinating! I would never have known this at all because, you're right, it seems counterintuitive. Thanks for such an educational comment!

You are very welcome, thank you for your attention :-)

Fascinating facts :) Those greedy private collectors hiding art from people :) And yes, it is hard to take a good photograph of art. I had several photoshoots on this topic and i find photographing people so much easier. One of the reasons being, that while sometimes photography adds to the feeling, in other instances it can not show full depth of other subjects (That is why this amazing vista from your vacation looks kind of dull on a computer screen). Anyway, nice read, following you. Cheers!

Funny thing is, that the collectors who share their art in museums get their greed satisfied a lot more, as I said in one of my comments here already. Pretty twisted game after all.

Agree with you, that taking a good photo of a piece of art can be very challenging!

What a wicked world... and money makes it go around:)

That's for sure! And there is lots of it... imagine what a world it would be, if all the wealth was a bit more evenly distributed and spent to make it an even better place!

I just hope that new paradigm and block-chain technology will evolve and empower a more even distribution of wealth.

There is hope :-)

Fruehling-Klein.jpg

("Flower Bomber", R. Schmid, 2001)

I loved this whole conversation thread and this final painting is beautiful. I'm glad you shared it!

Thank you for liking my painting :-)

I do not know what to say. I can't argue :) Not sure what you meant precisely though. So i will interpret this as colorful future :)

The possibility of a colorful future, yes. In my genre of painting, there is a lot of dystopia, same as in a lot of the science fiction back in the 70s... My work is more positive and I want to believe that positive forces will prevail.

My painting is a metaphor for a better future... bombs exploding into flowers... greed into sharing, competition into cooperation, power crazy rulers replaced by caring guides..

The new paradigm and block-chain technology seem to point into that new direction. Which gives me hope :-)

I'm glad to know it's not just the limitations of my photographic skills that prevents me from capturing the majesty of certain aspects of nature or art. Thanks for the compelling and educational reply!

Very beautiful art @leta-blake , like an art master

I also have one art that is digital art manipulation, i hope you like @leta-blake

https://steemit.com/art/@wahyurahadiann/digital-art-manipulation-girls-and-sunset-2017729t194846111z

Thanks for the comment! I love your work and am going to check out your other posts. As for the art, it's not mine! It's Gustav Klimt's--a very famous artist. But the photos of the art are mine. :)

Thank you for your support @leta-blake
But it's really a very beautiful painting @leta-blake :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72