Color Challenge :: Tuesday Orange :: Julia Butterfly

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

After a four day hiatus from Steemit that found me at Disneyworld for a couple days, then the subsequent recovering from Disneyworld, I come back bearing pictures.

Pictures of butterflies, which happened to be one of the cooler things we saw at Epcot. They had a large butterfly tent wherein were dozens of flavors of butterflies.

Since I wanted to get out a post today, enjoy my photo of a slightly ragged Julia butterfly.


A bit of a damaged wing on this little guy, but otherwise he seemed happy. Not that I have any idea what a happy butterfly looks like.
I didn't get to see all the butterflies on their placard, but we saw...most.







Photos by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

How do you know the Julia Butterfly is a “he”? I would have defaulted to “she” myself, but I suppose there must be both girl and boy Julia Butterflies. Okay now you’ve got me thinking about butterfly mating while I’m at work.

I kind of had this vicious butterfly fight storyline in my head, where our orange friend had to stand up and defend his lady from some preening monarch's unwanted advances, and there was a gloved slap across the face, and then a duel to the death, and that's how his wing got damaged.

Shall I anticipate that story as a future 50-word challenge post? 😄

Butterfly Battle Royale in 50 words? Yes. I like this.

Male birds tend to be more colorful and beautiful. I wonder does it apply to butterflies as well?

So this is a she then? :D

I was hoping you would be able to figure it out! 😊

I think we would have to see it next to another member of its species to compare!

I would imagine a happy butterfly is a fed butterfly. Definitely one of natures most beautiful creatures. Definitely rooting for the butterfly with a damaged wing. Great share, Negative.

They're like tiny little works of art flying around directionlessly.

I love the contrast of the orange of the butterfly with the deep pink (red?) of the flower @negativer.

Nice capture! 😊

I'll call it red. :) Thanks!

Loving the beautiful colors!

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by @ecs creator & community leader @chelsea88.

Hi @negativer I was upvoted and followed you

What a beautiful creature the butterfly is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67