NasturtiumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

Photography Color Challenge Orange
Tuesday 31 July 2018

For some years, I've lived in a house with a fenced-in back yard. I really appreciate the privacy and security this has provided. It hasn't solved all problems.

A few weeks ago a groundhog made its way into the neighborhood. It took me a couple of weeks to disuade it from coming into MY yard (by daily plugging the holes it dug under my fence). I'm still not sure it has left the neighborhood. But it hasn't been back now for more than a week.

While it had access to my yard however, it destroyed (ate) all of my cabbage plants (about 10). It chewed off the tops of my nasturtiums, the greens from beets, my sunflower plants, and had begun to mess with my young peach trees. And all of this in just a couple of days!

Luckily some of the nasturtiums survived. The above picture is the first flower on one of the plants.

Yesterday, we replanted replacement cabbages (though it may be too late in the growing season for them to produce). The peach trees are young; and the groundhog did not do them any permanent damage.

Pocket computer photo

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66