ColorChallenge MondayRed: Zinnia

Hello everyone! Today I want to share with you a photo of zinnia flower. This beautiful flower grows in my garden.

20150628_153421.jpg

Here are some interesting facts from Wikipedia. Most types of zinnias came to Europe from Mexico. In 1519 Spanish colonizers came to South America, they were struck by the beauty of the gardens of the last ruler of the Montezuma Aztecs. In 1759 Carl Linnaeus described the genus zinnia and named it after his disciple Johann Gottfried Zinn. From 1931 to 1957 the zinnia was the official flower of the state of Indiana (later it was replaced by the peony).

I want to add, that zinnia is the unpretentious flower. It easily tolerates drought and even light frost. Zinnia blooms for a long time and well worth it in the bouquet. So, if you are in doubt, whether you want to plant this flower - do not doubt!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

zinnia flower is very beautiful in view. good post

Beautiful flower!

Hey thanks for the description of your photograph. I was thinking the last time I posted some I should have gone into some detail about each flower/plant I was posting. I will adopt this from now on, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49