Teaching a Dog Downward Dog

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

Earlier this evening I was trying to think if I had anything to post, and since today was an ordinary work day with nothing standing out as post-worthy, I began thinking about the color challenge. Someone explained the color challenge to me recently and I'm pretty sure they said each day of the week corresponds with a color of the rainbow using ROYGBIV and it starts on Monday. I think it starts on Monday—"Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Wednesday"—not sure. If so, that would make today yellow; I haven't gone to bed yet so it's still Wednesday for me.

IMG_0396 (1).jpg

I've never been a fan of yellow so I had to think long and hard for anything that I have that's yellow. Then it dawned on me: Leia's giraffe! My boyfriend got Leia this cute giraffe made out of rope and she loves it. She's always loved playing with rope toys but she used to know this one by name. "Go get your giraffe, Leia," and she would go get it. But when I said it tonight she just stared at me blankly; we haven't played with Giraffey in a while. Then I said, "Where's your giraffe from Daddy?" She quickly started looking around, but not for the giraffe.

IMG_0399.jpg

So I went and got it myself and started playing tug of war and reinforcing the toy's name. After playing several minutes, Leia went into a position she often takes while playing tug of war, and I had an epiphany…This is how I could teach Leia to do Downward Dog! You know, the yoga position! This is a position dogs naturally take while stretching, and I've been wanting to teach the girls how to do it on cue. After working with her several minutes, it was easy for me to guide her into the position. I trust that in the near future, and with many tasty treats, she will be able to go into Downward Dog without the tug of war ruse.

IMG_0406.jpg

IMG_0409.jpg

Sort:  

I’m sure that takes a lot of patience! This is great info:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65