My Bit of Paradise Past: ROSES- The Mutabilis and Sally Holmes

in #colorfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

Roses and orchids are my favorite flowers. I had orchids inside my old home (and I still do in my home today), and planted literally over a hundred varieties of roses in the front and backyard of my paradise past.

Rose blooms are defined by their fullness or the number petal count in a bloom.

A rose with a "very full" bloom has 41 to more than 100 petals, a "full" bloom has 26 to 40 petals, a "double" bloom has 17 to 25 petals, a "semi-double" bloom has nine to 16 petals, and a rose that has four to eight petals is a "single".

Many miss out on the beauty of the single rose, and so I chose to feature two single rose varieties in this article to start this segment of my blog about the flowers of my paradise past.

The majority of my friends who had come to visit my garden have wondered if these single petal blooms are even roses at all. Then I tell them that these are the closest to the original wild roses which were all originally singles.

I planted several varieties of single roses and my favorites are the Mutabilis and the Sally Holmes.


Photo of Mutabilis taken by @silversaver888

Mutabilis, commonly known as “butterfly bush”, is an old china rose. It has numerous shades of deep crimson flowers and many yellow and orange flowers. The Mutabilis got its nickname from the masses of flowers that appear like swarms of butterflies.


Photo of Sally Holmes taken by @silversaver888

Sally Holmes likewise has masses of blooms that start out apricot in color then becomes white, and is a favorite of rosarians.

All roses are beautiful. I love single bloom roses for their simplicity and charm.

I will endeavor to show as much of the beautiful roses that bloomed in my garden on the succeeding articles of My Bit of Paradise Past series.

Thank you for visiting with me. I hope to see you again soon!

@silversaver888

Previous Related Posts


My Bit of
Paradise Past #1

My Bit of
Paradise Past #2

My Bit of
Paradise Past
#2-2

My Bit of
Paradise Past
#2-3

My Bit of
Paradise Past #3

Sort:  

That was the first article about roses that I had already read and I liked it. Please bring us more.

I think that roses and orchids are the loveliest of flowers. I am glad that you like this article and that you want to see more of the flowers that grew in my backyard past. It is very healing for me. Thank you my friend, for being here. Take care.

seeing these just brings a smile to my face thank you so much

I am glad, my friend! Thanks for stopping by. I love sharing with you! Take care.

I love it!!!!

You are a Beautiful STEEMIAN !!!

@silversaver888 awesome beauty in such a delecate but complicated thing. Amazing the wonders of nature and always good to look deeply into something that most just walk by without a second thought. As I have stated before this attention to detail and appreciation of it is what makes you a phenomenal stacker. Thanks for sharing my friend!!

Awwww. your comments are super nice, my friend! I feel very encouraged! Take care.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 9.39% upvote!
I was summoned by @silversaver888. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 2.83% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @silversaver888!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 3.79% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @silversaver888!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

This post has received a 1.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @silversaver888.

I had no idea there were so many different roses! 🌹 The butterfly bush is beautiful! What kind of rose are you? 😁 Lovely post, my SSFL👊💗

I, too, did not know at first that there were so many roses. I had idea that I would end up with so much roses in the backyard. So I started with one rose variety, and kept getting them, one of each, and OMG!!!, after a year and a half years, I had sooooo much beautiful flowers blooming... and I kept going... It is much like stacking, my SSFL👊💗. It is a real wonder how slow and consistent effort brings big results. I think that if I was a rose... I think that I am like all the roses put together, hahaha! Thanks for stopping by. I will see you again later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71