Abandoned Dockless Bikes San Diego California colourfulphotography

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

This street corner in San Diego California is gathering a crowd of abandoned dockless bikes. There are seven of them in this spot from three different companies. One of them is beeping to let you know it is broken. I did not get closer to find out which one is the beeper. It is pretty loud and annoying though.

Abandoned dockless bikes San Diego california bxlphabet.jpg

The more I look, the more of these bikes I see. I do not know who approved this idea and I don’t see it as a success.

I wonder why all of these bikes are in this one place, why they are mostly fallen to the ground. If you used one to get here, how did you get back to where you came from?

I do know you can get your first ride for free if you have a phone. With all the many companies that have these bikes, you could ride for free a number of times. Maybe people are trying this form of transportation just that one time, and then leaving the bikes where they see a crowd of them after that.

My post is for this week’s @photocontests #colourfulphotography contest by @juliank. I use my LG K20 Plus phone to take pictures.

My posts about docked and dockless bikes (and scooters!) in San Diego California:

Docked Bikes San Diego California
Lost Dockless Bike San Diego California
More Dockless Bikes Everywhere San Diego California colourfulphotography
Dockless Rental Scooters Coronado California

Sort:  

They make for a great colour photography @bxlphabet leaving them laying around like that makes absolutely no sense.

If a company is starting out, offering rides in the area, great idea, better idea to look after their assets properly.

Obviously theft is not a problem in the area, leave something like a bicycle not tied up properly to a pole over here it would be gone in no time at all 😊

From what I understand the company doesn't do anything to help keep the streets and sidewalks clear of jumbled messes like this! They let the city come take them and recycle them or something. I'm assuming each bike makes them more than enough to cover the cost of replacing it rather than trying to spend money to fixing broken ones. I feel like the city is going to shut this down at some point, to me it just seems like a very big safety or fire hazard to have dozens of bikes blocking the walkways.

Surely if you had a pocket full of sim cards you could pretty much ride the bikes all the time for free :)

haha! good thinking! now..where to get that many simcards with 4G access though? Thanks for the comment, you made me laugh :D

Here in the UK you can get them free from service providers :) :) :)

some are lying down, some are watching them. Nice colors.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you appreciate my photo, it really means so much to me. This mess jumped out at my as an artistic opportunity right away! The fact that I have already made several posts about these bikes is just a bonus!

Good work always appreciated.

Congratulations @bxlphabet ! You received a 4.91% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 125 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

nice pic, nice colors

those bikes are amazing to look at.

this photo is perfectly captured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10