Kalesa - The Lamborghini of the 18th Century

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180222_201430-01-01.jpeg

While I was strolling the baywalk of Dumaguete City, I saw this colorful Kalesa!

Kalesa is a two-wheeled carriage, similar to the Jinrikisha (rickshaw) of Japan, but in the Philippines it is drawn by a horse.

The kalesa was introduced to the Filipinos by the Spaniards in the 18th century, during their regime. It was used as the mode of transport by the upper classes.

Like today, wherein your car says a lot about your social class, kalesa was once considered a luxury that only nobles and high-ranking officials could afford. It can be compared to the Lamborghini of the 20th century!

FB_IMG_1519354303385-01.jpeg

I am always fascinated with kalesas. In fact, I was able to ride the kalesas of Cebu, Intramuros, and Vigan. But among all the kalesas I have seen, the kalesa of Dumaguete is the most visually appealling!

It was decorated with several adornments, but the thing that makes it unique from the others is that it had disco lights that also came with an upbeat music!

I haven't tried it yet, since I was in a hurry last night (need to fall in line a long queu to buy Silvanas), but I will surely try it tonight with my son. I'm pretty excited for the experience!


Category: Colourful Photography Contest by @juliank & @photocontests
Camera: Huawei P10
Location: Dumaguete City, Philippines

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

I love the title Lol!
I experienced this Lamborghini when we visited Intramuros, that time its 50pesos for one trip and we enjoyed the polluted air.lol! Char! But really I enjoyed that and scared because I'm worried about the horse. I feel he was irritated to the noisy environment and will out of control then run.lol.

Thank you sis! Kalesa ride is really enjoyable! But I agree, Manila air is so dirty. 😁 But here in Dumaguete, the air is soooo fresh. I could actually live here! Lol. I fell in love with the place! 😍❤

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:03:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pagkalingaw...
how to be you po @chinitacharmer? 🤭☺️☺️

Hahaha. Pagsure sir oie! 😂 Nagdalikyat ko sulat while waiting sa announcement of winners sa NSPC! 😁

Nicee! Sana makatry din ako ng Kalesa someday. Hehe.

You will po! Marami sa Manila or Cebu. Masaya siya promise! 😂 thanks po

Layo mo naman haha

Hahaha, malayo man ako, malapit ka naman sa puso ko! Charoooot! 😂🤣

Yoooohooo chichi forever!!!💕💕💕

Wow I've been in Dumaguete but never tried to ride on Kalesa, but hopefully next time =)

Di na rin ako nakasakay 😂 Nevertheless, nasiyahan parin akong panoorin ung kalesa na may disco light. 😁

Haha yeah, i would like to ride kalesa with a disco light.. Taga Dumaguete ka?

Nope. Was just there for a vacay sis. :)

Oh, I thought.. you're from dumaguete i love dumaguete..

Kakamiss sumakay ng kalesa... sis penge silvanas hahaha...😂😂😂🤗🤗🤗

Sister marami dito sa bahay. Punta ka! 😂
IMG_20180223_203625.jpg

Haist gusto ko yan, padala mo dito sis wahaha... 😂😂😂 kalayo mo naman sis...😝

Hahaha malayo talaga sis. If ipadala q jan sis, nag melt na xa lol.. Sayang. Cge lang, baka in d future maka.travel tau together ng mocha girls! 😂

Ayyy bet ko yan, travel together hihi...🤗🤗🤗

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and love your photos and I love horses and your smile.

Thank you so much @joeyarnoldvn! 😀

Yeah and thank you too and I love travel and animals and especially people.

Kasama pa to sa bucketlist ko... Hindi pa ako nakakasakay niyan. LOL

Go for it miss mermaid! Masaya siya! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76